EndNote 21 for Windows: Attaching Files

Attaching Files to EndNote Records

EndNote provides the ability to attach files to records in your library.

Added files are stored in the library’s Data folder.
Any of the common file formats may be attached, including AV & multimedia files (wav, mp3, mov, QuickTime), PDF, Microsoft Access/Excel/PowerPoint/Project/Visio/Word files, and text files (txt, rtf, html).
Up to 45 files may be attached to each record.

Importing from a database does not automatically transfer the full text of the article. Instead, you will need to attach the files automatically using the Find Full Text function (see the tab above) or attach the files manually using one of the following methods.

Using the "Attach File" Command

Within EndNote, select a record in the Library Window you'd like to attach a file to.
Click on the Attach File link under the Summary Tab.
Navigate to the folder where you store the files and click on the file to attach, then click Open.
The file will be attached to the record, and a paperclip icon will appear in the record within the Reference Window.

Dragging and Dropping

You can also attach files by dragging and dropping one or more files onto a record in either the Library Window or the Reference Window.

Watch the video on attaching files to EndNote records manually.

Using "Find Full Text" to Attach Files Automatically

EndNote can automate the process of locating and attaching PDF files to EndNote records using the "Find Full Text" command.

The "Find Full Text" feature works most efficiently when the EndNote record includes a DOI within the DOI field.

Note: for users of versions prior to EndNote 21.4, you need to set up the preferences within EndNote before using the “Find Full Text” feature for the first time. See the instructions below.

Setting up preference for "Find Full Text" for versions before EndNote 21.4

Within EndNote, click EndNote 21 | Settings| Find Full Text
The EndNote Preferences Window will appear (see below). Select Find Full Text from the left hand panel.

Make sure that

Each of the check boxes are ticked in this window
Enter the following addresses in the corresponding fields:

OpenURL Path: https://newcastle.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/61UON_INST/openurl?

Authenticate with URL: http://ezproxy.newcastle.edu.au/login?url=

(include the “=” in the last URL)

Click OK, then close the EndNote Preferences Window.

Using "Find Full Text" to attach files automatically

Highlight the records to be checked (you can select up to 250 at a time).
Click the Find Full Text icon (or click References | Find Full Text | Authenticate).
Enter your University login details on the Find Full Text Login screen if prompted.
EndNote will now search for the PDF files and attach to the appropriate records.

The Find Full Text Group Set will appear in the Groups Panel.

This group set provides details of the number of:

PDFs found and attached
PDFs not found
URLs for PDFs that were found but could not be sourced

Reasons why "Find Full Text" may not locate a PDF

"Find Full Text" may not find all the pdf files due to various reasons.

The University of Newcastle Library does not have a current subscription to access the article
The article is too old to have a PDF available online
The article is ‘buried’ in an aggregated database and does not allow individual articles to be located
The journal has embargoed access to current articles
The publisher website does not support or allow this capability
Proxy or firewall issues are preventing access

You can always attach files manually if needed. See the Tab above for more details.

Watch the following video on how to use the "Find Full Text" feature.

Attaching Files from PDFs with DOIs

If you have a collection of PDF files that contain DOIs, you can create EndNote records and attach the PDFs to their respective records automatically.

Watch the following video on adding references from PDF Files

Library help

Help and Information