University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Morpeth Collection

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special Collections : Morpeth

The Morpeth Collection

This is a collection of some 2,700 volumes from St. John's College, Morpeth, generously donated by the Anglican Diocese of Newcastle,and includes editions of major theological and philosophical works printed in the 16th-18th centuries. At least half the Collection originally belonged to the first Anglican Bishop of Newcastle, William Tyrrell, who was appointed to the Diocese in 1847. The oldest book held in the Library is found in this collection, namely, Eusebius' Ecclesiasticae Historiae printed in Paris in 1544.

The first transfer of rare books of St. John's College Library Morpeth, to the University Library in 1973. The Rev. Ray Williamson, Bishop Housden, Vice- Chancellor Auchmuty and the University Librarian Edward Flowers.

Above: The first transfer of rare books of St. John's College Library Morpeth, tothe University Library in 1973. The Rev. Ray Williamson, Bishop Housden, Vice- Chancellor Auchmuty and the University Librarian Edward Flowers.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354