University of Newcastle Library guides

Rare books and special collections:  Light Collection

A listing of the rare book and other special collections held in the Auchmuty Library.

Special Collections : Light

The Reta Light Australian Poetry Collection

 

This Collection comprises 130 items purchased with Light funding. Most are first editions printed in the nineteenth century and many of the items are very rare. Included in the Collection is a first edition of the Man from Snowy River printed in 1895. It was one of 25 copies numbered and initialled by George Robertson and contains the original signed manuscript of Rolf Boldrewood's preface. There is also a presentation copy of Henry Kendall's Leaves from Australian Forests, printed in Melbourne in 1869. Loosely inserted is the unknown manuscript "To Australis", a sonnet presented to a Dr Patrick Moloney.

The following is the web version of Elizabeth Guildford's The Reta Light Australian Poetry Collection (The University of Newcastle Research and Special Collection Series No.6) which was compiled in July 1996.

Related information

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354