Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Safetyhub This link opens in a new window
A cross-platform safety training video streaming website with assessments and trainee management. Videos can be streamed and viewed on any device: iPhone, iPad, PC, Mac, and Android
MAK collection for occupational health and safety This link opens in a new window
Includes both the toxicological substantiation of threshold values for chemicals at the workplace (MAK and BAT values) plus the suitable monitoring methods. MAK and BAT values are listed for nearly 1000 substances as well as more than 600 full-text documents in PDF-format.
ScienceDirect journals This link opens in a new window
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These OHS web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
Safe Work Australia
Safe Work Australia is a national policy setting body. This site provides resources regarding standards and OHS legal obligations, OHS information, statistics, research and related sites.
Safe Work NSW
Safe Work NSW's resources of industries, legal obligations, hazards and risks, codes of practice, guides, factsheets, news and more.
The national authority for work health and safety, and workers’ compensation. It works with workers, employers and unions to keep workers healthy and safe, and reduce the incidence and cost of workplace injury and disease.
Health & Safety from business.gov.au
An Australian government resource on managing OHS in business highlighting the legal requirements businesses must comply with to reduce workplace OHS risks.
OHS Body of Knowledge (OHS BoK)
Knowledge shared by OHS professionals for understanding the causation and control of work related fatality, injury, disease and ill health, including theories, evidence, and their applications to facilitate a safe and healthy workplace.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these WHS groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Environmental and Occupational Health and Safety are: