University of Newcastle Library guides

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
  • Available to anyone, including members of the public
New
American doctoral dissertations is a free research database which provides details of theses and dissertations accepted by American universities from 1902 to the present. Where available, the citation will include a link to access the full text, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed, such as OhioLINK, Rochester Institute of Technology and North Carolina State University.
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This digitisation programme consists of the six regional archives of the news reporting network, The Associated Press, cover the period from 1848 to 2009. Although The Associated Press originated in the United States and has always had its Head Offices there, it has from the beginning been an international news operation with a direct presence in Australia and New Zealand. It’s ‘Bureau Chiefs’ and teams of reporters stationed in Australia and New Zealand have reported news from our part of the world to the international community. Conversely, news stories written by AP reporters in all other parts of the globe have from the beginning been syndicated in most major Australian and New Zealand newspapers (and continue to be today). For these reasons the archives of The Associated Press, apart from their significance for research in areas like American Studies, European Studies, International Affairs, and Media and Journalism Studies, represent valuable primary source materials for research into our own political and social affairs and how those affairs have been presented around the world.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Australian content
  • Full text
New
CCH eTextbooks on Wheeler’s e-Lending Platform enables you browse, borrow and read eTextbooks anywhere, any time, on multiple devices. The library has purchased 25 titles in the subject area of Law.

Download the free ePlatform app to access the ePlatform on your iPad, iPhone, Galaxy and most other devices.

Adobe Digital Editions or Bluefire Reader is also required to download the eBooks to read offline. For more information see https://cch.wheelers.co/help/guides
  • Ebooks
New
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
Unlimited users
New Trial
Premium nursing and allied health database ideal for practice, research, or education—access to nearly 5 million records. Coverage is comprehensive and includes evidence-based healthcare, all nursing specialties and professions, nursing education and training, nursing development and management, health and health care economics, midwifery, clinical, medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, traumatology, emergency and critical care medicine, emergency services, biomedicine, dental hygiene, nutrition and dietetics, physical therapy and surgical technology.
  • Full text
  • Streaming video
  • Ebooks
Trial
Comprises five repositories of different kinds of scholarly content including journals, ebooks, podcasts, videos, transcripts, newspaper articles, as well as radio and TV broadcasts. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.
Trial is available from 25th September 2017 - 3rd November 2017 Please provide Feedback


  • Full text
New
Gartner is the world's leading information technology research and advisory company.
Use Student Number and Password
New
Benchmarks research output and impact; identify collaborators and subject matter experts; promotes areas of strength and specialisations; demonstrate results and impact.
Access to Benchmarking & Analytics requires Users to create an account with a University Email Address and Password.
New
Iter eBook collection, Essays and studies consists of monographs and well focused essay collections on Humanism, the Renaissance, and the Reformation. The Series seeks to promote not only current innovative scholarship, but also the interdisciplinary approach to research. This series is continuing to expand each year with more volumes being published.
Unlimited users
New
Iter eBook collection, Other voice in Early Modern Europe: The Toronto Series is a series of texts, primarily by women, who contributed to the development of humanism during the European Renaissance (ca. 1300-1800). The collection also includes some texts written by a smaller group of male advocates of women. This series is continuing to expand to include more continental European women authors writing between 1400 and 1700 and will add will add some of the earliest texts written by women in Dutch, Polish, Portuguese, and Russian.
Unlimited users
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
Officially founded in 1920, the American Civil Liberties Union is a non-profit organisation which has been the principal defender of the rights US citizens can assert against their government. Its primary aims have been the defense of the freedoms of speech and press, the separation of church and state, the free exercise of religion (central to the present litigation against the proposals of President Trump), equal protection under the law and the privacy rights of citizens. Although American, the ACLU is international in scope and its collections include materials concerned with International Civil Liberties and literature from rights organisations such as the Japanese, Korean, German and Australian Civil Liberties Unions.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
Trial
Directly relevant to studies in the development of English and Australian common law, this archives brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles. Its International Law component features works of some of the great legal theorists including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, and Wheaton. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises from a variety of countries, including Australia, covering the national and provincial laws or jurisdictions. The Comparative Law component features books that compare more than one legal system, such as common law, civil law, Talmudic, Islamic, Ancient Law and indigenous legal systems.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This archive offers superseded codes in an easy-to-find online form. It is a collection of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, other countries in northern Europe, and also Australia. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. Sourced from the law libraries of Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University, this archive provides an interpretive analysis with books on codes, the "primary sources" of law. Of interest to historians is the inclusion of texts in Western languages on significant topics, such as Ausfurhliches handbuch uber den Code Napoleon (1810) and Motivi, Rapporti, opinioni e discorsi -- per la formazione del codice napoleone (1838-1849).
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This archive is a collection of historical legal codes and similar statutory materials as well as commentaries on codes from around the world, focussing on Italy, Spain, Portugal, Latin America (including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Mexico, and other countries), Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Egypt, and India. Because the field of legal history is conceptualized transnationally, current research on diverse jurisdictions in both civil- and common-law traditions underscores the need for codes and statutes from a broad spectrum of countries. This archive supports the study of comparative law and the interdisciplinary fields of study that touch on the social sciences. Analogous materials from canon law and Roman law are also included.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This archive describes the courtroom dramas that gripped American society, the British Empire, and the world. It includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs, and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings, and arbitration sessions. The collection also supports studies in government, psychology, critical theory, theatre and performance, gender studies, race studies, and journalism. Users will find published trial transcripts; popular printed accounts of sensational trials for murder, adultery, and other scandalous crimes; unofficially published accounts of trials, briefs, arguments; and books encompassing multiple trials as well as books and pamphlets about a single trial.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
Trial
This archive is a comprehensive full-text collection of Anglo-American legal treatises. Sourced from the world's foremost law libraries, it covers nearly every aspect of American and British law and encompasses a range of analytical, theoretical, and practical literature for research in British legal history. It features casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches, and other works from the most influential writers and key legal thinkers of the time including Edward Coke, William Blackstone, Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, James Fitzjames Stephen, and F.W. Maitland.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This archive is a collection of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests, and more. The collection brings together in one place many of the important documents that have been lost, destroyed, or previously inaccessible to researchers of American legal history around the world. Materials included are: Early state codes, from all US states up to 1926; Constitutional conventions and compilations, such as reports, journals, proceedings, and debates published by conventions enacting or amending state constitutions; City charters, being the texts of enacted and proposed charters and ordinances in American jurisdictions; Law dictionaries, including all the major American law dictionaries up to 1926.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This archive supports research in legal and social history from the eighteenth century to the era following World War II. Consisting of US state and territorial codes, municipal codes, and constitutional conventions and compilations, scholars of English and American common-law heritage will find this resource invaluable for tracing major legal topics. The materials include territorial codes, municipal codes, constitutional conventions and compilations. Topics addressed in this collection include: debate over slavery and race law after Reconstruction; due process; native American & US government relations; progressive era and New Deal legislation; Crime and punishment (penal codes); health and safety codes; business and corporate law; welfare and labour; military and veterans affairs; and education and school systems.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
A comprehensive online collection of records and briefs brought before the US Supreme Court by leading legal practitioners, many who later became judges. It includes transcripts, applications for review, motions, petitions, supplements, and other official papers of the most-studied and talked-about cases, including many that resulted in landmark decisions. Featuring background and context for the cases presented to the Court, the Collection contains primary source material on every aspect of law -- civil rights law, constitutional law, corporate law, environmental law, gender law, labor law, legal history and legal theory, property law, taxation, and trademark and intellectual property law.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
New
Micromedex is a browser-based interface that is intuitive and easy-to-use, providing quick access to evidence-based content at any point in the patient care process. The University of Newcastle's access includes: Alternative Medicine – Evidence-based monographs on herbals, dietary supplements, etc. and information on alternative therapies of common health conditions; DRUGDEX System – Peer-reviewed, evidence-based drug information including investigational and nonprescription drugs; Imprint Codes in Identidex – Enter full imprint with spaces (BMS 500), partial imprint (BMS), description of a non-text imprint (heart) or (logo) for other shapes; Interaction Checking – Interactive drug interactions tool to help you check interacting drug ingredients, their effects, and clinical significance; IV Compatibility – Your instant answer to IV compatibility questions with easy-to-interpret information; MARTINDALE – International drug information, including investigational and herbal drugs; REPRORISK System – In-depth reproductive risk information on drugs, chemicals, and environmental agents. Access also includes the External Applications: NeoFax – Neonatal drug information resource; Pediatrics – Evidence-based drug information for pediatrics
  • Full text
  • Primary source/Historical document
Trial
This digitisation programme consists of twelve large archives of primary source materials, where is archive concentrates on a particular theme of nineteenth century life, politics or art. The twelve modules are: British Politics and Society: Asia and the West; British Theatre, Music and Literature: the Corvey Collection of European Literature; Science Technology & Medicine 1785 – 1925 Parts 1 and 2; Photography – the World Through the Lens; Women – Transnational Networks; Europe & Africa; Mapping the World; Children’s Literature & Childhood; Religion, Spirituality, Reform and Society. All of the content is cross-searchable on the one platform.
Unlimited users
Trial is available from 25th July 2017 - 1st December 2017
New
OnArchitecture is an audiovisual database which features the main trends in the field of architecture. It is a global scale project, produced by Chilean architects and includes video-interviews to prominent architects throughout the world, audiovisual records of their main works, installations as well as interviews to the users of those spaces.
Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox web browsers are recommended.
Unlimited users
  • Ebooks
New
Cengage eTextbooks on Proquest's eBook library enables you to browse and read eTextbooks anywhere, any time, on multiple devices. The library has purchased 27 titles in the subject areas of Education and Business.
3 concurrent users
  • Ebooks
New
Oxford University Press eTextbooks on Proquest's eBook library enables you to browse and read eTextbooks anywhere, any time, on multiple devices. The library has purchased 59 titles in the subject areas of Law, Health and Education.
3 concurrent users
  • Ebooks
New
Wiley eTextbooks on Proquest's eBook library enables you to browse and read eTextbooks anywhere, any time, on multiple devices. The library has purchased 17 titles in the subject areas of Law, Education, Science and Business.
3 concurrent users
  • Australian content
  • Images
New
RP Data provides commercial and residential real estate property valuation and house prices around Australia.
To access, students and staff will need to email Lisa Ogle from their @uon, @newcastle or @tafensw email accounts. Non university/TAFE email accounts cannot be used. The library has 20 student registrations which will be deleted at the end of each trimester.
  • Australian content
  • Streaming video
New
Safetyhub is a cross-platform safety training video streaming website with assessments and trainee management.
Safetyhub videos can be streamed and viewed on any device: iPhone, iPad, PC, Mac, and Android
Unlimited users
Help is Just a Click Away
Email, text or chat to us
Ask the Library

Clearing your cache and cookies
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...