Find a selection of children's books on your topic or theme below.
This kit is aimed at helping to increase the levels of literacy among students from Kindergarten to Year 6 and will benefit both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal children. It includes stories from Aboriginal communities, and the majority of the artwork is by Aboriginal adults and children throughout NSW. Aboriginal people feature in the books and the language used is inclusive of Aboriginal English. The books present positive images of Aboriginal life in NSW and reflect the diversity of Aboriginal communities across the state.
The primary objective of this series is to provide at-risk readers with interesting reading materials that reflect their everyday experiences, captivate their imaginations, and help them develop strategies that will enable them to become independent readers.
While Carousel Readers will be ideally suited to the strengths and weaknesses of Reading Recovery students, the books in the series are also suitable for early intervention with at-risk readers in Title I and elementary-level ESL/LEP programs as well as in any classroom that uses Guided Reading strategies. As a collection, all of the books in the Carousel Readers series make good supplementary reading materials for any kindergarten or first grade classroom and for any students who are having difficulty making the transition to being effective literacy learners.
Reading Age: 7.5-8
Interest Age: 12-14
Ten chapter books written to appeal to reluctant readers aged 12 to 16 with a reading age 6.5 to 7 years.
The stories are edgy and exciting with a hint of the dark side and will especially appeal to boys. These fast-moving stories are high interest with a little bit of a twisted underbelly that will keep them reading to the bitter end.
Flying Start to Literacy reflects best practice in literacy instruction and supports the systematic development of reading strategies and skills.
The Foundations program offers crucial intervention for delayed readers and provides teachers with the latest assessment and instructional techniques for use along with exciting and challenging books. It offers everything you need to build a strong foundation for early literacy.
Foundations' books integrate the best research-based knowledge to help students develop independent reading strategies. Exciting fiction and nonfiction books motivate children to master increasingly difficult reading skills as they work through eleven carefully sequenced levels.
Journeys in Critical Literacy helps students learn how to access and interpret all forms of texts, from stage plays to comic strips, and then analyse the the texts for deeper meanings. The set is divided into five common themes: doors, home, laugh, playing and reflection.
Covering popular topics in the humanities area of the Australian Curriculum, Mac Australia Topics combines powerful visual literacy elements with engaging text matched to students' reading abilities. Each topic is supported by a Teacher Resource Book for Lower, Middle and Upper Primary stages.
A selection of various levels, colours and reading age titles from the different PM Library collections. For further information regarding each PM Library, follow the Publisher Information link.
PM Non-Fiction books are carefully researched, presenting factual information accompanied by superb photography and realistic illustrations to engage young readers. The carefully levelled PM Non-Fiction books cover levels 3–30.
| Title | Colour |
|---|---|
| Time | Green |
| Maths | Red |
| Familes | Yellow |
| People | Blue |
| PM Title | Colour | Reading Age |
|---|---|---|
| PM Animals Facts - Pets | Orange | Age 6.5 |
| PM Animal Facts - Wild | Turquoise | Age 7 |
| PM Anthology | Emerald/Ruby/Sapphire | Ages 9,10,11 |
Each meticulously levelled PM Fiction book features a classic story structure complete with tension, climax and resolution. The stories deal with concepts and experiences that young children can relate to. PM Fiction books cover levels 3–24.
Scholastic Education provides highly effective instructional literacy and numeracy programs aligned with the curriculum to schools.
At the core of each product that Scholastic develops and distributes is the understanding that we must engage students and support educators. We have built a range of resources that collectively fit together to provide a whole-school solution to instructional learning.
Scholastic Education is your partner in introducing, developing and mastering fundamental skills in students to enable them to succeed in every aspect of their education. If your students require better educational resources, or your educators are in need of more support, please speak with our knowledgeable team.
Guided Reading Levelling Resource Chart
This comprehensive series caters for the different interests and levels of reading confidence and competence in your classroom with finely graded texts covering diverse content. Diverse comprehensive strategies are fostered, utilising assorted questioning techniques and graphic organisers. With comprehensive teacher support provided for each book, Springboard can be used as the main reading resource in your school or as a part of a wider literacy program.
A wide selection of titles across 30 reading levels provides flexibility to the dynamic classrooms of today of today’s classrooms.
Sunshine Classics Skills Chart
For children in grades 3-5
Please note, these books are in the hanging plastic kit bags in Ourimbah Library.
This kit is aimed at helping to increase the levels of literacy among students from Kindergarten to Year 6 and will benefit both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal children. It includes stories from Aboriginal communities, and the majority of the artwork is by Aboriginal adults and children throughout NSW. Aboriginal people feature in the books and the language used is inclusive of Aboriginal English. The books present positive images of Aboriginal life in NSW and reflect the diversity of Aboriginal communities across the state.
Please note, these books are in the hanging plastic kit bags in Ourimbah Library.
The Cambridge reading series is a levelled reading scheme. Book banding for the series has been developed by the IOE to ensure word count and vocabulary are suitable for each level, allowing children to find a level and to progress through carefully incremental stages.
|
1- Starting to Read (simple stories, building vocabulary, basic sentences)
2- Reading Independently (more challenging stories, varied sentence structure, paragraphs and short chapters)
3- Reading Proficiently (complex stories, rich vocabulary, longer chapters)
Stories featuring Disney Cars, Planes, princesses & fairies for strong reader engagement.
|
The ELF Emergent Reading program readers are sequential and colour-coded in levels of increasing complexity: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green and Blue.
Flying Start to Literacy reflects best practice in literacy instruction and supports the systematic development of reading strategies and skills.
1- Beginning Reader (sight words, words to sound out and simple sentences)
2- Developing Reader (new vocabulary and longer sentences)
Stories featuring LEGO characters for strong reader engagement.
1- Starting to Read (simple stories, building vocabulary, basic sentences)
2- Reading Independently (more challenging stories, varied sentence structure, paragraphs and short chapters)
Stories featuring Marvel characters for strong reader engagement.
Covering popular topics in the humanities area of the Australian Curriculum, Mac Australia Topics combines powerful visual literacy elements with engaging text matched to students' reading abilities. Each topic is supported by a Teacher Resource Book for Lower, Middle and Upper Primary stages.
Please note, these are found in the plastic kit bags in Ourimbah library.
|
A selection of various levels, colours and reading age titles from the different PM Library collections. For further information regarding each PM Library, follow the Publisher Information link.
PM Non-Fiction books are carefully researched, presenting factual information accompanied by superb photography and realistic illustrations to engage young readers. The carefully levelled PM Non-Fiction books cover levels 3–30.
| Title | Colour |
|---|---|
| Time | Green |
| Maths | Red |
| Familes | Yellow |
| People | Blue |
| PM Title | Colour | Reading Age |
|---|---|---|
| PM Animals Facts - Pets | Orange | Age 6.5 |
| PM Animal Facts - Wild | Turquoise | Age 7 |
| PM Anthology | Emerald/Ruby/Sapphire | Ages 9,10,11 |
Each meticulously levelled PM Fiction book features a classic story structure complete with tension, climax and resolution. The stories deal with concepts and experiences that young children can relate to. PM Fiction books cover levels 3–24.
Scholastic Education provides highly effective instructional literacy and numeracy programs aligned with the curriculum to schools.
At the core of each product that Scholastic develops and distributes is the understanding that we must engage students and support educators. We have built a range of resources that collectively fit together to provide a whole-school solution to instructional learning.
Red 1-6
Blue 7-10
Yellow 11-14
Purple 15-19
Scholastic Education provides highly effective instructional literacy and numeracy programs aligned with the curriculum to schools.
At the core of each product that Scholastic develops and distributes is the understanding that we must engage students and support educators. We have built a range of resources that collectively fit together to provide a whole-school solution to instructional learning.
Scholastic Education is your partner in introducing, developing and mastering fundamental skills in students to enable them to succeed in every aspect of their education. If your students require better educational resources, or your educators are in need of more support, please speak with our knowledgeable team.
This comprehensive series caters for the different interests and levels of reading confidence and competence in your classroom with finely graded texts covering diverse content. Diverse comprehensive strategies are fostered, utilising assorted questioning techniques and graphic organisers. With comprehensive teacher support provided for each book, Springboard can be used as the main reading resource in your school or as a part of a wider literacy program.
A wide selection of titles across 30 reading levels provides flexibility to the dynamic classrooms of today of today’s classrooms.
Non-fiction book series:
Earth Science
Life Science
Physical Science
The Literacy and Numeracy Test for Initial Teacher Education Students (the test) is designed to assess initial teacher education students’ personal literacy and numeracy skills to ensure teachers are well equipped to meet the demands of teaching and assist higher education providers, teacher employers and the general public to have increased confidence in the skills of graduating teachers.
For more information about the test including how to register, prepare and sit for the test, visit the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) web site.
Helpful resources
NAPLAN sample tests (including year 7-9 example tests)
UK Department of Education literacy skills test including practice paper for UK Literacy and Numeracy Tests
Australian Free Practice Aptitude Tests: From the Institute of Psychometric Coaching
Sample English tests from 'Selective Tests'
Sample general abilities test from 'Selective Tests'
Sample maths tests from 'Selective Tests'