LibGuides: Allied Health: Discipline specific resources

Discipline Specific Resources

PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition
Developed by Dietitians of Canada, PEN provides answers to practice questions in dietetics, with references and links to relevant literature.
5 concurrent users

OTseeker
Free database containing abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials on occupational therapy practice.
Note on the OTseeker website:
"Due to a lack of funding for OTseeker, content on OTseeker from 2016 and beyond is not as comprehensive as previously." It is highly recommended you search for more recent evidence using CINAHL or Medline.

ClinicalKey Student: Dentistry
Resources for learning and teaching in Dentistry.
Users are required to create a personal profile to access any content on the site. A personal profile also enables users to use Bookshelf (with highlighting, note-making, and bookmarking functionality), share notes/highlighting, and export notes to OneNote. If you have a personal username and password for another Elsevier product, such as ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciVal or Mendeley, the same login details will work here in ClinicalKey. If you need to create a login click 'Register here'. Please use your University of Newcastle email address
Dental Trauma Guide
This resource covers treatment guidelines for primary and permanent teeth. The website is developed in cooperation between the Copenhagen University Hospital and the International Association of Dental Traumatology (IADT).

These journals have been recommended by Oral Health academics.

PEDro
Free database of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

AccessPharmacy
Interactive multimedia resources, ebooks, self-assessments, case files, care plans and an A-Z drug database.
3 Concurrent users
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database) (OVID)
The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a bibliographic database with coverage of 1985 to the present produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.
AMH Aged Care Companion
4 concurrent users. Please logout at the end of your session.
Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook
Comprehensive reference of injectable medicines, including antineoplastic agents and antivenoms.
10 Concurrent users
Australian Medicines Handbook
eBbook of the annual AMH, includes drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information.

Herbs and Natural Supplements, Volume 1
Up-to-date evidence on the latest research on herbal and natural medicines.
Herbs and Natural Supplements, Volume 2
Up-to-date evidence on the latest research on herbal and natural medicines.

Micromedex
Micromedex offers comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology oriented information for health care professionals and patients. This includes functions to support patient safety, such as IV compatibility, drug interactions, drug identification, drug comparison, and a suite of 650+ clinical calculators.
MIMS online
A wide range of Australian medicines information including full & abbreviated product information, drug/drug interaction and pill identification modules. Includes insights into drug-disease contraindications, information for the safe administration of IV injectables, medicines relevant to sports, and a selection of monographs specific to dental practice.
Natural medicines
Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.
Therapeutic Guidelines
Previously known as eTG complete. Australian therapeutic guidelines.

Therapeutic Guidelines
Previously known as eTG complete. Australian therapeutic guidelines.
SPORTDiscus with full text
Sports, health, fitness and well-being.

Journal of Foot and Ankle Research
The official journal of the Australian Podiatry Association.

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA)
Abstracts and index to articles, book reviews, books, chapters, dissertations and working papers covering phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Speechbite
Free database providing access to research on speech and language therapy.