Allied Health: Resources

A library guide for students and staff in medical radiation science, nutrition and dietetics, occupational therapy, oral health, physiotherapy, pharmacy, podiatry, speech pathology.

Cross-discipline Databases

Key databases commonly used for accessing the latest research in allied health disciplines.

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO)
Allied health and nursing database.
Medline 1946- (OVID)
Contains research on biomedical and allied health disciplines.
Embase (OVID)
Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. . It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Emcare: Nursing and Allied Health (OVID)
Nursing and allied health database. Coverage includes health care economics, mental health, physical therapy, nutrition and dietetics.
PsycINFO (OVID)
Behavioural sciences and mental health database.
Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Nursing and allied health database (ProQuest)
Nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine database.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Scopus has a limit of 2,000 citation exports.

Quick search guide for health databases

Full list of Library databases

Recommended resources for information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Health Collection (Informit)
Australasian health information covering indigenous health.

Lit.Search
A search filter that provides access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature via PubMed.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Informs practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples Search Filter

Recommended resources for information on the diagnosis, treatment and management of conditions and diseases.

BMJ best practice
Combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion.

Interactive 3D resources.

Anatomy.tv
Online interactive 3D models of the human anatomy. Interactive features include zoom, layers, MRI, clinical slides and x-rays, animations and images.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Videos providing a 3D look at the anatomy of the human body using real human atomic specimens.
Use Google Chrome for this database
Thieme teaching assistant anatomy
Contains all the images from Thieme's top anatomy titles.
You must set up an account to save images and content.

Policies and guidelines contain recommendations for clinical practice based on evidence.

Note that local policy documents found on the local health district intranet are confidential and often not suitable for use in assessments.

Therapeutic Guidelines
Australian Therapeutic Guidelines
Joanna Briggs Institute
Search for topic and filter using Best Practice Information Sheets and Evidence Summaries as publication type for latest guidelines.

New CINAHL interface

CINAHL has changed! Watch this short video to get up to speed!

Web Resources

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Australian Government Department of Health
NSW Health
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
Provides health and welfare data and information through an independent agency working with government and non-government bodies.

Let us know what you want

Is there anything more you would like us to include in this guide? Let us know by going to our Feedback page and we will do our very best to add the resources you want.

Did you know that there are many great textbooks and resources that are available for free? Here are some examples of textbooks available for you to use during your degree and beyond!

For information about OER's, please see our guide.

Anatomical variation: An Australian and New Zealand context
Publication Date: 2023
Biosciences for health professionals Book 1 by Anna Chruścik, Kate Kauter, Stuart Ellem, Eliza Whiteside & Louisa Windus
Publication Date: 2025
Communication essentials in dentistry by Shetty et al.
Publication Date: 2024
Cultural safety in health by Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll et al.
Publication Date: 2025
A Guide to Performing Systematic Reviews of Health and Disease by Kurinchi Gurusamy
ISBN: 9781800087781

Publication Date: 2025
Introducing scoping and systematic reviews by Erin Roga and Dr Karen Pruis
Publication Date: 2025
Practical introduction to writing reviews in health research by Dell Horey et al.
Publication Date: 2024
Qualitative research: A practical guide for health and social care researchers and practitioners
Publication Date: 2023

Merlot
Includes a range of freely available courses, texts and learning exercises. Search by discipline to find relevant resources.
edX
Includes courses from Australian and international universities, plus lecture notes, reading lists, open access textbooks and other related course materials.
Academic Earth
Academic Earth was launched on the premise that everyone deserves access to a world-class education. It includes links to a range of freely available tertiary level courses.

E-books

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Publication Date: 2013
Concise Medical Dictionary
Publication Date: 2020

Your Subject Librarians

This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting allied health are:

Teaching Liaison Librarian

Jennifer Goh

Fiona Jones

Research Liaison Librarian

Nicole Faull-Brown