Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

Alerting Services: Saved Search Alerts

This Guide covers Saved Search Alerts, Journal Alerts, RSS Feeds and Citation Alerts and RSS Feeds for selected databases available to UON researchers

Search alerts

Search Alerts save valuable research time, they can be set up to provide automatic e-mail notification whenever new results become available. You can also retrieve a saved search to run immediately, instead of waiting for the alert to run.

To save your search as an alert from the Share link:

  1. Run a search and view your search results.

  2. Click the Share link and select E-mail Alert from the resulting pop- up menu. The Create Alert window appears over the result list.

  3. If you have not done so already, click the Sign in link in the alert window to sign into your folder (or "Create a New Account" if you haven't done so yet).

  4. Set your alert parameters and click Save Alert.

To save a search as an alert from the Search Alert/History window:

  1. Run a search and view your search results.

  2. Click Search History/Alerts and then Save Searches/Alerts. If you have not already signed in your personal account, you will be prompted to do so.

  3. Enter a Name and Description for the Alert.

  4. Select which EBSCO Databases the search should run across from the drop-down list (use the control key to select multiple databases).

  5. To save the search as an Alert click the Alert radio button and set your parameters.

Create a search alert on Proquest

Step 1—Review search details
Name this alert: The name can include alphabetic and numeric characters, as well as spaces and special characters.
Searched for: Reflects the search you performed. Your alerts will be based on that search.
Limited by: Any limiters you applied to the search, such as Peer reviewed, display here.
Databases: Reflects the databases selected when you ran your search. 

Step 2— Define your alert email
Send to: The email address associated with your My Research account displays here.
Also send to: Enter one or more email addresses, separating each with a comma or semicolon.
Subject: The subject will display on the Subject line of the alert email you receive. 
Message: Optional message of up to 250 characters. The message text will display in your alert email.
Format: Select HTML (the default), or Plain text.

Step 3—Define your alert content
Include search details: Alert name, search terms, limiters, databases
Newly published documents only (default) — As content becomes available in ProQuest, the alert delivers only new material.
Newly added documents, including historical items — As content becomes available in ProQuest, the alert delivers new material and historical sources.

Step 4—Schedule your alert
Send: Specify how frequently ProQuest should run your alert.
Stop after: Specify when you no longer want to receive the alert.

How do I save searches?

Click on Advanced search (found on the right-hand side of the search bar) and enter your required search criteria.
At the bottom of the page you will be able to name this search and decide whether you would like to receive alerts relating to this search. Click Save search.
At this point you can enter your email address to get updates. In order to manage your saved searches you will need to register or sign in.

How do I manage saved searches?

Sign in with your username and password and go to My Account.
Click the Manage Saved Searches button. Here you can run your search directly, delete your saved searches, and create new saved searches.

You can create a search alert from the Search history box, Search results page, Source information page or My settings page.

  1. Enter and run a search.
  2. Above the Search results, click ImageSet alert.
  3. In the Name of alert field, enter a name for the alert.
  4. In the E-mail address field, enter the email address for alert notifications.
  5. From the Frequency drop-down list, select how often you want to receive alert email notices. If there are no alerts during this time you do not receive an email.
  6. Select either HTML or Text as the format for your alert email.
  7. Select Active or Inactive as the status of your alert, setting an alert as Inactive will not delete it.
  8. Click Save to save the alert

 

  1. Create and run a search.
  2. On the search results page, select Save search alert.
  3. Complete the fields on the Save Search Alert page: alert name, email address, frequency
  4. Select Save to save the search alert and return to the search results page.

As new records are added to any database specified in an alert, Informit will automatically email you records that match your saved search query.

  • On the Search page, enter your search term(s) and click Search
  • Click Set email alert for this search in the black bar above your search results and enter: email, description and expiry date 
  • Click Create Alert

Saving your search history in Web of Science allows you to:

  • Create e-mail alerts and RSS feeds from your saved search history
  • Access your saved search history from any computer at the University
  • Open your saved search history directly from Web of Science

To save your search:

  • Register for a free Web of Science account (or click on Sign In if you have already registered)
  • Conduct your search
  • Click on Create Alert (left-hand side of the screen)
  • Fill in the details on the pop-up box:
               Search History Name
               Type (default is Author, Title, Source)            
               Format
               Frequency
  • Click on Save
  • Click on Close

 

Saving a Search or Search History

  1. Create a free Ovid account if you do not already have one.
  2. Conduct your search.
  3. Select your search by ticking the box next to the search statement you want to save.
  4. Click the Save button, or Save All if you want to save the search history.
  5. Enter a name for the search and any comments.
  6. Select an option from the Type dropdown list: 

Permanent - saves the search for as long as the Library maintains a valid subscription.
Temporary - saves the search for 24 hours, then deletes it.
AutoAlert (SDI) - creates a search that runs automatically on a regular basis & emails results to an email address.

  1. Click the Save button.