Exporting Directly from Databases
Creating References from PDFs
Checking for Duplicate Records
Direct Export Using Safari
Finding Full Text
What Is a DOI and how do I use it?
Combining Chapters for a Thesis
Removing Field Codes
Missing EndNote Toolbar in Word
Create a Stand-alone Bibliography
Direct Export using Safari
Missing EndNote Toolbar in Word
Using EndNote with Pages
Help & Training
2014 News Update
In 2014, the recommended citation software programs for use by Undergraduate students will be EndNote Online, Zotero and Mendeley.
Each program provides the same basic features and functionality with some exceptions.See our Managing your References guide.
EndNote is now the recommended citation software program for use by Academics, Research Assistants, PhD, Masters or Honours students. However, for students who will be working with a small number of references (15 or less) we suggest you consider using alternative reference management programs such as Mendeley or Zotero.
PLEASE NOTE: There have been reports that when using the NEWCAT+ filter in Internet Explorer, that the filter is not working from the results page. If this occurs, select the individual item record to export to EndNote or alternatively change to FireFox until the issue is resolved. 19 May 2014.
What is EndNote?
Before you start:
If you would like to use EndNote to assist you with your referencing and bibliographies, you must first understand how and why you need to reference your work. You must also be knowledgeable about the referencing style you use. Please see our Referencing guide for the most common styles used at UON.
If you are only including a few references in your assignment, for example between 1-15, you might find it easier to concentrate on knowing your referencing style rather than using EndNote. Or, we suggest you consider using alternative citation software programs such as EndNote Online, Mendeley or Zotero.
You must always back up your work. Do it early and do it often. This will reduce the risk of losing your research.
Hint: Back up your EndNote library in two or three different places.
If you decide to use EndNote, you must be able to recognise when EndNote is displaying your references incorrectly in your Word document. Being knowledgeable about your referencing style will assist with this.
The main reasons for EndNote displaying references incorrectly are:
You have chosen the wrong Reference Type, eg. you want to cite a journal article and you have chosen a book reference type.
You have left out important elements of your citation.
You have not entered the correct information into the appropriate fields of the template.
You have imported the citation from a database and the details have not come through correctly.
While EndNote sounds like the end to all your referencing problems, it may not be, depending on your circumstances. You need to learn the EndNote programme thoroughly, and this takes time, practice and patience.
What EndNote can do
EndNote allows you to create and organise your references into your own personal citation database. You can keep a record of all the journal articles, books, conference papers, and other documents you use during your study or research, in one place.
EndNote also allows you to store PDFs and other electronic documents within your personal EndNote library. You can also create bibliographies and insert references from your EndNote library into a Word document in the referencing style that you choose.
EndNote version X6 for Windows and EndNote version X5 for Mac are currently supported by the University of Newcastle Libraries. Please see the University download page to download the EndNote program.
Learn to use EndNote
The library currently supports EndNote X6 for Windows and EndNote X5 for Mac.
EndNote is now the recommended citation software program of use by Academics, Research Assistants, PhD, Masters or Honours students. If you need help with using EndNote please contact your Faculty Librarian or Research and Learning Librarian.
You can also use our online tutorial below.
University of Newcastle Guides
What's new in EndNote X6 (online video tutorial)
* If you have an old version of Adobe Acrobat Reader and cannot open this file in the web browser, you may open with Adobe Reader:
1. Close web browser
2. Open Adobe Reader
3. Choose Edit > Preferences.
4. Select Internet in the list on the left.
5. Deselect Display PDF in Browser, and click OK.
6. Restart web browser and click on the file.
The file should now open with Adobe Reader.