AI tools: Search

This portal provides access to information around generative AI tools - how to use them appropriately at the University and general considerations around their use.

On this page:

Searching using AI

While all genAI tools can provide 'information', some can also function as a search engine/tool:

Copilot (University-endorsed tool with data protection)
Perplexity
Consensus
Semantic Scholar
Elicit
Connected Papers
Scite_ (free trial but usually requires payment)

Some tools provide sources directly, while others can provide summaries to asked questions with linked sources, or lists of sources. Because of their internet connectivity and search capability, these tools are less likely to 'hallucinate' sources. With that said, it's still important to consider which of the sources provided will be suitable for your needs, as you may also be presented with general web material and grey literature in addition to articles, chapters and papers (depending on the tool used). Some recent research has suggested that the results from some tools may not be great for accuracy or understanding.

Using AI in academic research means strongly committing to transparency and accountability to keep your scholarly work legitimate (and eventually, as funded researchers, to comply with grant and publishers’ requirements). So, while generative AI can be a game-changer, it’s crucial to use it wisely and follow ethical guidelines to ensure your research is reliable and credible.

The University of Sydney has a number of useful pages in their AI module if you'd like to learn more:

Looking for literature sources (includes Elicit and Copilot examples)
Literature reviews
Annotated bibliographies

What about sources provided by requesting them in a prompt (ChatGPT/etc.)?

It's important to check each citation that is provided in outputs from genAI tools, due to the potential 'hallucination' problem. If you have citations taken from answers generated by genAI tools and can't find them, try searching directly for the journal titles cited to source the articles - it's possible they don't exist.

Still can't locate something that seems important, or just stuck? You can book in to speak with one of our librarians for help - there are online and in-person options for both students and researchers.

Using 'connector' AI

'Connector' AI function by the use of functionality known as 'citation chaining' to find cited, similar, or related articles. This is most helpful when you have found an article that is highly relevant to your needs, and you're searching for connected publications. These AI tools usually work via entering the details of an article, and can often provide visual maps that allow you to engage with other publications via their connect to the article you entered the details for.

Examples include:

While there are many options to enter the details of an article to start the search for connections, best practice is to enter the title or DOI of an article. This relies on materials that are openly available on the web and removes the need to upload files. Wherever possible, uploading files to AI tools should be avoided due to copyright considerations.

Uploading files to genAI

There are important considerations around uploading files to genAI tools.

Data security/privacy

GenAI systems often use user inputs as part of their training data, so if you are using a platform without data security, you should be careful with your assessment files, as they could become part of a later output and used by someone else.
The University's enterprise access to Copilot includes data security so use of Copilot is recommended.

Copyright

Certain student uses of copyright materials with genAI may be covered by 'fair dealing' or the educational statutory licence for courses and assessments. The usual limitations apply around types and amounts of materials, plus which genAI tools may be used.
Many copyright owners are against sharing their materials with genAI systems due to commercial and potential plagiarism concerns (and/or lack of attribution). Do not assume that all materials can be used or uploaded.
Some databases available from the Library currently may restrict articles or chapters from their platforms being used with genAI, so it's best not to upload any materials that aren't covered by an option noted on our Copyright for generative AI page without confirming the use is otherwise allowed.
To save uploading files, many AI platforms allow for the use of links or article titles/etc., which removes the need to upload materials that are openly available on the web. Note that some sites may discourage the use of links.
This is an evolving space, so stay tuned to the Copyright for generative AI page!

University-owned materials

The University owns course materials, computer works, and materials created by professional staff, as per our IP Policy. University owned materials or information should not be shared with unapproved platforms (as per the Copyright Compliance Policy), including with genAI.
The University's enterprise access to Copilot has been approved for use with University materials by DTS due to its data security, the icon for which is visible top right of screen when you are logged in.

Cultural considerations

There are concerns about the potential negative impact of genAI on Indigenous Cultural and Intellectual Property (ICIP).
This includes creation of imagery by genAI that ignores cultural protocols around how imagery or art styles are used.

GenAI - Use of prompts as training data (updated 24 September 2025)
NOTE: Claude has now changed it's training settings to default to using prompts as training data unless users opt out.

Uploading your own information to genAI

As noted above for files, data security/privacy is a big concern for genAI systems. To ensure that any information you provide in an input does not become part of the AI tool's training data, you should check what is being shared, and whether you can opt out.

The JISC National Centre for AI (UK) has a great summary to help with navigating the terms and conditions of genAI tools across text, image, audio and video generation, plus others, that makes it easier to see what is being shared and whether you can opt out. It's also important to check after any updates/upgrades to the platform that you are still not sahring your information more broadly, otherwise it could become part of a later output and used by someone else.

Note that the University's enterprise access to Copilot includes data security that is highly visible when you log in, top right of screen.

To be safe, it's always best to limit any personal or potentially sensitive information shared with a genAI tool, so being careful when creating CVs and personal or oral histories. Consideration should also be given to uploading interview transcripts and similar materials.

GenAI - Use of prompts as training data (updated 24 September 2025)
NOTE: Claude has now changed it's training settings to default to using prompts as training data unless users opt out.

Additional considerations for HDR students

HDR students may have additional considerations from working in research spaces. HDR students and their supervisors should read the guidance for Generative Artificial Intelligence and Higher Degrees by Research (PDF). See also our page on AI for Research.

Theses

Don't share your thesis material with any genAI system unless you know that data security is in place - your thesis belongs to you and you don't want the thesis becoming part of genAI learning materials before it's released.
Ensure that you are transparent in any use of you make of genAI with your thesis.

Articles and papers

Many publishers have limitations around use of their materials with genAI.
You should also ensure that you check publisher statements on the acceptable use of AI for their journals.

Other Intellectual Property (IP) - research & organisational

Material from patents you are writing should not be shared with genAI as it could potentially affect your ability to secure the patent (see Data security/privacy, above).
Materials owned by the University under our IP Policy (including from University projects) should not be shared with unapproved platforms (as per the Copyright Compliance Policy) - this includes genAI. If in doubt, limit your use to the University's enterprise access to Copilot.