Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sociology, anthropology, philosophy and religion databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these sociology and anthropology databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index to Anthropology journals from the early 19th century to today.
5 concurrent users
Sociological abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest index to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations from leading subject indexes and full-text articles from scholarly full-text journals. Topics covered include gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text This link opens in a new window
Articles from Australian journals and newspapers covering social sciences. Limited full text.
Taylor and Francis This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles. Subject areas include sociology and anthropology.
SAGE journals online This link opens in a new window
Access to articles on social sciences.
Religion and philosophy collection This link opens in a new window
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
ATLA Religion database (1949+) This link opens in a new window
Index to 1.8 million journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some journal issues date to the nineteenth century.
Other sociology, anthropology, philosophy and religion resources
ClickView This link opens in a new window
Streaming video solution offering access to thousands of educational videos and resources covering a broad range of topics, as well as TV programs recorded in the last 14 days from free-to-air digital channels.
Does not work in Internet Explorer
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming films, documentaries and training videos. New releases daily from producers including: Madman Entertainment, Roadshow Films, BBC, ABC, NFSA, Roland Collection, Psychotherapy.net and Symptom Media.
TVNews This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos of all Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks. TVNews is updated daily.
ANZ Newsstand (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
Capital Monitor This link opens in a new window
Provides Australian parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information.
Newspaper source plus This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for 185 US and international newspapers. Also selective full text for 392 regional US newspapers, and full text US television and radio news transcripts.
Adam Matthew Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides digital archival content for the social sciences and humanities. Access several themed collections.
Find census and analysed data about Australia and the rest of the world from:
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
3 volume encyclopedia containing entries exploring poverty in various regions of the world, and examining the difficulties associated with the definition and measurement of poverty, along with its causes and effects.
Fifty Key Concepts in Gender Studies
Gender studies - what it is and how it originated. 50 entries reflecting the complex, multi-faceted nature of the field.
Dictionary of Homophobia: A Global History of Gay & Lesbian Experience
Documents the history of homosexuality, and various cultural responses to it, in all regions of the world: a masterful, engaged, and wholly relevant study that traces the political and social emancipation of a culture.
Religion Past and Present
Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide: the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). Includes the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present Online encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these sociology and anthropology groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Other Library Collections
Use these links to access free resources from the NSW State Library and the Australia National Library.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting sociology, anthropology, philosophy and religion are: