Skip to Main Content

Referencing and Citation Management: Quick Referencing Tools

A guide to referencing, referencing styles and citation management tools for UON students and researchers

Quick Referencing Tools

 

  • Quick referencing tools (or citation generators) are available in our library databases and on the web.
  • They can format references instantly in a style for you.
  • They can be a time saver when you have a small amount of references to be formatted quickly.
  • See the above tabs for some examples. 

 

   Please Note

  • Like any other citation management tools, quick referencing tools are not always 100% accurate.
  • It’s important you always check the citations for accuracy before including them in your work.        

 

Library search landing page

Library Search is the UON library's main discovery tool.

Quick Cite in Library Search: 

  1. Conduct a search and click on the linked Title to access the full record
  2. Click the CITATION icon, then choose the style, the default is APA 7th
  3. Check on the citation formatted and click COPY CITATION TO CLIPBOARD
  4. Paste the citation to your work and correct any mistakes there 

Hint: 

  • The formatted citation is not always 100% accurate. Can you see any mistake in the example citation formatted below?
  • You must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citation into your assignment.
Hoe to use the citation tool in library search

 

Cite tool in EBSCO databases

 

  EBSCO Megafile is a collection of journal article databases covering all subject areas.

  Quick Cite in EBSCO databases

  1. Conduct a search and click on the linked Title to access the full record
  2. Click Cite under Tools on the right of the page
  3. Choose the style e.g., APA 7th and check on the formatted citation for any mistakes.
  4. Copy and Paste the citation to your work and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citation into your assignment.

Cite tool in ProQuest databases

 

  ProQuest is a collection of journal article databases covering all subject areas.

  Quick Cite in ProQuest Databases:

  1. Conduct a search and click the Cite Icon (quotation mark) on the right of the record
  2. Choose the style e.g., APA 7th and check on the formatted citation for any mistakes
  3. Copy and Paste the citation to your work and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citation into your assignment.

Cite tool in Google Scholar

 

  Quick Cite in Google Scholar

  • Go to Google Scholar at:   https://scholar.google.com
  • Conduct a search and click Cite under the record
  • Choose the style e.g., APA 7th and check on the formatted citation for any mistakes
  • Copy and Paste the citation to your work and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citation into your assignment.

Citing with ZoteroBib

ZoteroBib is a free web-based citation generator.

To get citations and bibliographies using ZoteroBib:

  • Go to ZoteroBib at zbib.org 
  • Type in your source information, such as:
  • ISBN for a book,
  • DOI for an article,
  • URL for a webpage, or
  • other information such as title, and
  • Click Cite
  • If you can't find your source this way, use the Manual Entry option
  • Check on the formatted citation and click Edit to make any changes as needed
  • Select the referencing styles from the drop-down, e.g., APA 7th
  • Copy and paste the in-text citations and references to your work

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citation into your assignment.

BibTeX Citation Generators

About BibTeX Generators

 

Some of your assignments may require you to write in LaTeX format. If so, you will need to use BibTeX to manage your references.

BibTeX is a reference management tool and a file format used for creating and formatting in-text citations and reference list in LaTeX documents. It allows you to maintain a database of references and cite them in your LaTeX documents in a chosen style. See the tab above on About BibTeX for more details. 

BibTeX citation generators are available in our library databases and on the web.

  • They can generate BibTeX citations for selected publications for you to download and add to your BibTeX file.
  • They can be a time saver when you write in LaTeX and BibTeX
  • See the above tabs for instructions on how to download BibTeX citations from some of the key databases. 

 

   Please Note

  • Like any other citation management tools, BibTeX citation generators are not always 100% accurate.
  • It’s important you always check the citations for accuracy when adding them into your .bib file.        

 

About BibTeX for Referencing

 

BibTeX is a reference management tool and a file format used for creating and formatting in-text citations and reference list in LaTeX documents. It allows you to maintain a database of references and cite them in your LaTeX documents in a chosen style.

 

How to Use BibTeX for Referencing

1. Set up a BibTeX reference database

  • Create a BibTeX database (.bib file)

Create a plain text file and save it with a ".bib" extension, e.g., `references.bib`.

  • Add references into the BibTeX database

You can add references into your BibTeX database by manually typing them in, or import from other systems such as Google Scholar or EndNote.

Each entry in the database represents a reference and has a unique citation key to identify it.

  • Format of the references

Each reference in the BibTeX database follows a specific format. The general BibTeX entry format is:

@EntryType{EntryKey,
  Field={field content},
  ...
 }

There are various entry types like @article, @inproceedings, @thesis, etc., each with different required and optional fields. Here's an example of a book entry:


@book{citation_key,
  author = {Author Name},
  title = {Book Title},
  publisher = {Publisher},
  year = {Year},
}

 

@book{alma991016340818807966,
  author = {Gammage, Bill},
  booktitle = {The biggest estate on earth: How Aborigines made Australia},
  publisher = {Allen \& Unwin},
  year = {2011},
}

 

2. Cite references in your LaTeX document

In your .tex file, use the \cite{citation_key} command to cite a reference. For example:

According to \cite{smith_01}, ...
 

3. Specify the bibliography style and name of the reference database

At the end of your LaTeX document, add the following lines to specify the bibliography style and the name of your BibTeX database:

\bibliographystyle{style}
\bibliography{references}


Replace `style` with the desired LaTeX bibliography style, such as `plain`, `alpha`, `unsrt`, 'acm', 'ieeetr', or a style file provided by a specific journal or conference. The `references` should match the name of your BibTeX database file without the extension.

 

4. Compile your LaTeX document to generate in-text citations and bibliography

Run LaTeX on your document, then run BibTeX, and then run LaTeX again and again. This sequence ensures that the citations and bibliography are generated correctly.

Please Note: The specific commands for compilation depend on your LaTeX editor or environment. For example, if you are using Overleaf, you may see the changes instantly when you turn the Auto Compile feature on.

Overleaf auto-compile feature

 

Remember to update your BibTeX database with new references or modifications when necessary.

  Download BibTeX Citations from ACM Digital Library

 

  1. Conduct a search, mark the records you want to save, then click Export Citations
  2. In the Export Citations pop-up, ensure BibTeX is selected
  3. Click the download icon to save the .bib file, or click the copy icon to copy and paste the BibTex entries to your .bib file
  4. Check and correct any mistakes in the .bib file 

Note: you must correct any errors when you add the BibTeX citations into your .bib file.

 

Download BibTex Entries from ACM Digital Library

  Download BibTeX Citations from arXiv.org

 

  1. Find the article you want to save, then click Export BibTeX Citation from the right of the screen under Download
  2. The BibTeX formatted citation pop-up will open for you to copy the citation to your .bib file
  3. Check and correct any mistakes as needed in your .bib file

Note: you must correct any errors when you add the BibTeX citations into your .bib file.

 

Download BibTeX citations from ArXiv

 

  Download BibTeX Citations from EBSCO Databases

 

  1. Conduct a search, mark the records you want to save by selecting the folder icon, then click go to Folder View.
  2. Check and select the records from the Folder Contents page, then click Export
  3. In the Export Manager page, ensure Citations in BibTeX format is selected, then click the Save button
  4. Copy and paste the BibTeX citation code into your .bib file and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you add the citation codes into your .bib file.

 

Download BibTeX from EBSCO step 1

 

Download BibTeX from EBSCO step 2

 

Download BibTeX from EBSCO step 3

 

Export BibTeX Citations from EndNote

 

If you use EndNote and write in LaTeX, you can export BibTeX citations from EndNote.

 

  1. Open your EndNote library, and select the references you want to export to BibTex format
  2. Select the BibTeX Export as the output style and ensure all data are correct
  3. Click File from menu and click Export ...
  4. In the pop-up window, choose:
    1. Save file as Text File (.txt)
    2. Output style as BibTeX Export, and
    3. Export Selected References
  5. Click Save

Export BibTeX from EndNote

 

Export to BibTeX from EndNote step 2

   Download BibTeX Citations from Google Scholar

 

  • Go to Google Scholar at:   https://scholar.google.com
  • Conduct a search and click Cite under the record
  • Click the BibTeX link to open the BibTeX code window. 
  • Copy and Paste the BibTeX citation code to your .bib file  

Hint: 

  • The citation is not always 100% accurate. 
  • You must correct any errors when you copy and paste the codes into your .bib file.

 

Cite tool in Google Scholar

BibTeX citation code from Google Scholar Cite tool

 

The BibTeX Citation Code from Google Scholar

 

BibTeX code data from Google Scholar

 

You can then copy the code into your BibTeX file and edit it as needed there.

Download BibTeX Citations from IEEE Xplore

 

  1. Conduct a search and select the records you want to download
  2. Click the Export link on the top of the list 
  3. Click the Citations tab from the pop-up window
  4. Choose BibTeX as the Format
  5. Click the Export button and Paste the citation codes to your BibTeX file and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citations into your BibTeX file.

 

Download BibTeX from IEEE Xplore

 

Download BibTeX from IEEE Xplore step 2

Library search landing page

Download BibTeX Citations from Library Search

 

  1. Conduct a search and click on the linked Title to access the full record
  2. Click the EXPORT BIBTEX icon, then DOWNLOAD
  3. Copy and Paste the downloaded citation code to your BibTeX file and correct any mistakes there 

Hint: 

  • The citation is not always 100% accurate. 
  • You must correct any errors when you copy and paste the code into your .bib file.

screenshot for downloading BibTeX citation code from Library Search

 

  Download BibTeX Citations from MathSciNet

 

  1. Conduct a search, mark the records you want to save, then click Export to get the Get Citations option
  2. Ensure BibTeX is selected and click on Get Citations
  3. In the Citations pop-up window, ensure BibTeX is selected, then click the Copy icon to copy and paste the BibTex citations to your .bib file
  4. Check and correct any mistakes in the .bib file 

Note: you must correct any errors when you add the BibTeX citations into your .bib file.

 

Download BibTeX citations from MathSciNet step 2

 

 

Download BibTeX citations from MethSciNet step 2

 

Download BibTeX Citations in ProQuest Databases

 

  1. Conduct a search and select the records you want to download
  2. Click the Cite Icon (quotation mark) on the top of the list 
  3. Change the default style to BibTeX
  4. Click the Copy button and Paste the citation codes to your BibTeX file and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citations into your BibTeX file.

 

Download BibTeX entry codes from ProQuest

Download BibTeX Citations from ScienceDirect Journals

 

  1. Conduct a search and select the articles you want to download
  2. Click the Export link on the top of the result list 
  3. Select Export Citation to BibTeX from the Pop-up windows
  4. Copy and paste the BibTeX citations to your .bib file and edit as needed. 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citations into your BibTeX file.

 

Download BibTeX citations from ScienceDirect step 1

 

Download BibTeX citations from ScienceDirect step 2

 

Download BibTeX Citations from Scopus

 

  1. Conduct a search and select the articles you want to download
  2. Click the Export link on the top of the result list 
  3. Click BibTeX from the Pop-up windows
  4. Choose the level of information you would like (e.g. Citation information and Abstract & keywords), and click Export

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citations into your BibTeX file.

 

Download BibTeX citations from Scopus

Download BibTeX Citations from Web of Science

 

  1. Conduct a search and select the records you want to download
  2. Click the Export button on the top of the list 
  3. Choose BibTeX from the pop-up window
  4. Check for the selection and Record Content, then click Export
  5. Copy and Paste the citation code to your BibTeX file and correct any mistakes there 

Note: you must correct any errors when you copy and paste the citations into your BibTeX file.

 

Download BibTeX citations from Web of Science

 

  Download BibTeX Citations from World Scientific Journals

 

  1. Find the article you want to save, then click Tools and then Download Citations option
  2. Ensure BibTeX is selected and click on Download 
  3. Check and correct any mistakes in the downloaded .bib file before copy the codes into your .bib file

Note: you must correct any errors when you add the BibTeX citations into your .bib file.

 

Download BibTeX Citations from World Scientific Journals step 1

 

Download BibTeX citations from World Scientific Journals step 2