Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Politics and International Relations Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these politics and international relations databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text (Informit) This link opens in a new window
Articles from Australian journals and newspapers covering politics. Limited full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival access to scholarly journals on the subject of politics and international relations.
Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text reports and information from 55 countries on business, government, economic, and social issues.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and books covering political science.
Sociological abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Proquest index to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
Other politics and international relations resources
TVNews This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos of all Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks. TVNews is updated daily.
ANZ Newsstand (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
Capital Monitor This link opens in a new window
Parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information. Includes press releases, transcripts, media interviews and additional related statements by government, opposition, and other parties, as well as industry reaction; Parliamentary papers, committee and inquiry reports, digests, and other official documents; Legislation, Hansard material, Gazettes and court decisions.
Newspaper source plus This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for 185 US and international newspapers. Also selective full text for 392 regional US newspapers, and full text US television and radio news transcripts.
APO: Analysis & Policy Observatory
APO is an open access evidence platform making public policy research and resources accessible and useable.
Search interface for government information.
Bills, Hansard, Committee Reports etc.
Parliament of Australia
Bills, Hansard, Committee Reports etc.
Australian Electoral Commission (AEC)
The AEC maintains an impartial and independent electoral system for eligible voters through active electoral roll management, efficient delivery of polling services and targeted education and public awareness programs.
The official website for the Australian Greens political party.
Australian Labor Party
The official website for the Australian Labor Party political party.
Liberal Party of Australia
The official website for the Liberal Party of Australia political party.
The Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (ASIO) is an Australian intelligence agency and the nation’s security service.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF).
Data Bank - World Development Indicators
Access to over 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 onwards, where data are available. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting politics and international relations are: