Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library Guides

Nursing and Midwifery: Library support on placement

A library guide for students and staff in nursing and midwifery

Library resources on placement

While you are on placement, you can access all the regular online University library services.

Connecting to WiFi

The University is a participating member of the eduroam network, which allows you to use wireless networks at cooperating universities and other institutions all over the world with your Uni-ID and password.

Access to eduroam is free.

You may find other locations in the town that you are staying in that provide free WiFi such as public libraries, cafes and shopping centres.

Teaching Liaison Librarian

Fiona Jones

 

Online guides

Anytime anywhere self-help guides.

Book a Librarian

Meet with a librarian to get personalised support.

Library classes and webinars

Our webinar program and HDR workshops run during teaching semesters but you can re-watch previous webinars via YouTube.

University of Newcastle students based at the Central Coast Clinical School and Research Institute (CCCSRI) or on clinical placement with the Central Coast Local Health District (CCLHD) can use Gosford Hospital and Wyong Hospital Library

Gosford Hospital Library 
Level 7, Central Coast Clinical School & Research Institute (Building A)
77a Holden Street,
Gosford NSW 2250
Ph: (02) 4320 3370

8.30am - 5.00pm (Monday - Friday) 
Email: CCLHD-LIBRARIES@health.nsw.gov.au

Wyong Hospital Library
Education Centre at Wyong Hospital
664 Pacific Hwy,
Hamlyn Terrace NSW 2259
Ph: (02) 4394 9022

8.30am - 5.00pm (Monday - Friday) 
Email: CCLHD-LIBRARIES@health.nsw.gov.au

Services available Gosford Hospital Library Wyong Hospital Library

Your student card is your library card and you are automatically registered to borrow from the collection. Please note that Hospital items cannot be sent to the University's campus Libraries for collection. 

Yes

 

Yes

 

A small, dedicated Course Readings collection contains course-specific and high demand items.  Course Readings items have a restricted loan period and must be returned to the Library you borrowed them from. Higher fine rates may apply to Course Readings material. Yes No
For help and assistance use our Ask a Librarian and Chat services. Yes Yes
Book a Librarian appointments are available. Face-to-face and online. Online only.
University desktop computers are available for use in the CCCSRI building in the Student Hub (Level 6) and the Library (Level 7).  Laptops are also available for loan to students from the Library. Yes No

WiFi is available. For computer issues or network access assistance please visit our IT support page or contact them on 4921 7000.

University network throughout the CCCSRI building. Eduroam only.
A CCLHD Stafflink account is issued to students on clinical placement and allows access to the CCLHD network.  Stafflink accounts are monitored and managed by eHealth, not the University. Yes Yes
University printing, photocopying and scanning services are available in the Library. Your University ID card is linked to your PrintCopy account. Please note that student printing should only be done from the University PCs. Further information on printing, adding credit, and wireless printing is available on the website. Yes No

 

University of Newcastle students on clinical placement with the Hunter New England Local Health District (HNELHD) can use these facilities located at the Royal Newcastle Centre, Newcastle Mater Hospital and Tamworth Base Hospital. 

John Hunter Hospital
Library Closed

A small reading room has been established:
Resource Room 3
Royal Newcastle Centre

Lookout Rd
New Lambton Heights NSW 2305

8:30am - 5:00pm (Monday - Friday)
Email: HNELHD-Libraries@health.nsw.gov.au

Mater Hospital Library 
Level 4 
Mental Health Administration
Edith St
Waratah NSW 2298
Ph: (02) 4033 5075

8.30am - 5.30pm (Monday - Friday) 
Email: HNELHD-Libraries@health.nsw.gov.au

Tamworth Hospital Library
UDRH Education Centre
Tamworth Rural Referral Hospital
Dean St
Tamworth NSW 2340
Ph: (02) 676 77985

8.30am - 5.00pm (Monday - Friday) 
Email: HNELHD-Libraries@health.nsw.gov.au

Services available
Your student card is your library card and you are automatically registered to borrow from the collection. (Mater and Tamworth only) Please note that Hospital items cannot be sent to the University's campus Libraries for collection.
For help and assistance use our Ask a Librarian and Chat services.
Book a Librarian appointments are available (online only).
Hunter New England networked computers are available in each branch library.  A HNELHD Stafflink account is issued to students on clinical placement which provides access to the HNELHD network. Contact HNE IT for assistance on 49 213800. 
University Wi-Fi is available in each branch library via Eduroam. Students are encouraged to bring their own device. For University computer issues or network access assistance please visit the IT support page or contact them on 4921 7000.
Printing and photocopying facilities are available at each Library branch. Contact the Library for more information.

University of Newcastle students on clinical placement with the Mid North Coast Local Health District (MNCLHD) can use Port Macquarie Base Hospital.

Port Macquarie Base Hospital Library 
Lower level, opposite Mental Health 
Wrights Rd 
Port Macquarie NSW 2444 
Ph: (02) 5524 2193 

8:30am – 5:00pm (Monday – Thursday) 
8:30am – 3:00pm (Friday) 
Email: MNCLHD-PMBH-Library@health.nsw.gov.au 

Services available
Students may register for Library membership which provides book borrowing rights and access to electronic journals.  Please note that Hospital items cannot be sent to the University's campus Libraries for collection. 
For help and assistance use our Ask a Librarian and Chat services
Book a Librarian appointments are available (online only). 
Mid North Coast networked computers are available.  A MNCLHD Stafflink account is issued to students on clinical placement which provides access to the MNCLHD network.
University Wi-Fi is available via Eduroam. Students are encouraged to bring their own device. For University computer issues or network access assistance please visit the IT support page or contact them on 4921 7000. 
Printing and photocopying facilities are available. Contact the Library for more information.
A quiet study room is available for casual use – bookings are taken for skype learning/meetings or study groups. 
Weekend and after-hours access is available via swipe card access. Please ask your clinical educator for a temporary card. 

 

While on placement within NSW health you will have access to the Clinical Information Access Portal (CIAP). This portal will give you access to databases and journals that are subscribed to by NSW Health. Via CIAP you will also be able to download mobile apps for UpToDate, MiMs, Therapeutic Guidelines and other databases which can be useful while on placement when you do not have access to a computer. For any questions or issues with CIAP please contact the librarians within the hospital library via email, phone or in person.