Medicine and Biomedical Science: Resources

A library guide for students and staff in medicine and biomedical science

Databases

Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Here are some key databases to find resources for medicine and biomedical science.

Medline 1946- (OVID)
Contains medical and biomedical research.
Embase (OVID)
Embase is an abstracting and indexing database developed for the biomedical and pharmacological fields. . It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
PsycINFO (OVID)
Behavioural sciences and mental health database.
BioMed Central Open Access
Peer-reviewed open access journals in the areas of biology, biomedicine and medicine.
Cochrane Library
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO)
Broad content coverage for nursing, midwifery and allied health specialties, speech and language pathology, general health and medicine. CINAHL Ultimate supersedes CINAHL Complete.
AccessMedicine
Medical ebook titles, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, diagnostic & point-of-care tools.
AccessWorldMed
Multimedia resources, clinical and GP cases, ebooks and flashcards on a broad range of medicine disciplines.
ClinicalKey Student: Medical
Resources for learning and teaching in Medicine.
Users are required to create a personal profile to access any content on the site. A personal profile also enables users to use Bookshelf (with highlighting, note-making, and bookmarking functionality), share notes/highlighting, and export notes to OneNote. If you have a personal username and password for another Elsevier product, such as ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciVal or Mendeley, the same login details will work here in ClinicalKey. If you need to create a login click 'Register here'. Please use your University of Newcastle email address

Quick search guide for health databases

Full list of Library databases

Recommended resources for information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Health Collection (Informit)
Australasian health information covering indigenous health.

LitSearch
A search filter that provides access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature via PubMed.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Informs practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples Search Filter

Recommended resources for information on the diagnosis, treatment and management of diseases.

UpToDate
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical resource for physicians. Access to UpToDate is also available via CIAP: https://www.ciap.health.nsw.gov.au/
BMJ best practice
Combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion.

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-5
DSM-5 defines and classifies mental disorders to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.

Recommended resources for information on medicines.

AccessPharmacy
Interactive multimedia resources, ebooks, self-assessments, case files, care plans and an A-Z drug database.
3 Concurrent users
AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database) (OVID)
The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a bibliographic database with coverage of 1985 to the present produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library. It covers a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.
AMH Aged Care Companion
Designed for professionals who offer high quality care to older people.
4 Concurrent users
Please LOGOUT at the end of your session
AusDI
Database of independent drug monographs, pharmaceutical company product information, consumer medicine information documents and more.
1 user licence
Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook
Comprehensive reference of injectable medicines, including antineoplastic agents and antivenoms.
10 Concurrent users
Australian Medicines Handbook
eBbook of the annual AMH, includes drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information.
Micromedex
Micromedex offers comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology oriented information for health care professionals and patients. This includes functions to support patient safety, such as IV compatibility, drug interactions, drug identification, drug comparison, and a suite of 650+ clinical calculators.
MIMS online
A wide range of Australian medicines information including full & abbreviated product information, drug/drug interaction and pill identification modules. Includes insights into drug-disease contraindications, information for the safe administration of IV injectables, medicines relevant to sports, and a selection of monographs specific to dental practice.
Natural medicines
Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.
Therapeutic Guidelines
Previously known as eTG complete. Australian therapeutic guidelines.

Interactive 3D resources.

AccessMedicine
Medical ebook titles, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, diagnostic & point-of-care tools.
AnatomediaPlus
Anatomedia is a comprehensive, self-paced learning program that explores anatomy from four different perspectives:
Regions: including surface and functional anatomy
Systems: including conceptual and clinical anatomy
Dissection: including practical procedures and post-mortem
Imaging: including sectional and endoscopic anatomy
Meksi, an AI powered Virtual Patient, allows doctors and medical students to safely practise and refine clinical consultation skills.
Select Launch to access Anatomedia or MESKI AI
Anatomy.tv
Online interactive 3D models of the human anatomy. Interactive features include zoom, layers, MRI, clinical slides and x-rays, animations and images.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
Videos providing a 3D look at the anatomy of the human body using real human atomic specimens.
Use Google Chrome for this database
Thieme teaching assistant anatomy
Contains all the images from Thieme's top anatomy titles.
You must set up an account to save images and content.

Policies and guidelines contain recommendations for clinical practice based on evidence.

Note that local policy documents found on the local health district intranet are confidential and often not suitable for use in assessments.

Therapeutic Guidelines
Australian Therapeutic Guidelines
Joanna Briggs Institute
Search for topic and filter using Best Practice Information Sheets and Evidence Summaries as publication type for latest guidelines.

New CINAHL interface

CINAHL has changed! Watch this short video to get up to speed!

Web Resources

Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These websites are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.

Professional Associations

It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these groups as a student, or even throughout your career.

Let us know what you want

Is there anything more you would like us to include in this guide? Let us know by going to our Feedback page and we will do our very best to add the resources you want.

Did you know that there are many great textbooks and resources that are available for free? Here are some examples of textbooks available for you to use during your degree and beyond!

For information about OER's, please see our guide.

Answering Clinical Questions by University of Western Australia
Publication Date: 2025
Biosciences for health professionals Book 1 by Anna Chruścik, Kate Kauter, Stuart Ellem, Eliza Whiteside & Louisa Windus
Publication Date: 2025
Communication and teamwork skills to support neurodiversity by Teagan Menhenett, Nick Milne and Siva Krishnan
Publication Date: 2025
Cultural Safety in Health by Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll et al.
Publication Date: 2025
Diagnosis: a medical education game by Eleonora Leopardi and Nara Jones
Publication Date: 2024
Foundations of Biomedical Science: Quantitative Literacy: Theory and Problems by Julian Pakay
Publication Date: 2025
A Guide to Performing Systematic Reviews of Health and Disease by Kurinchi Gurusamy
ISBN: 9781800087781

Publication Date: 2025-08-05
Introducing scoping and systematic reviews by Erin Roga and Dr Karen Pruis
Publication Date: 2025
An introduction to research methods for undergraduate health profession students by Faith Alele and Bunmi Malau-Aduli
Publication Date: 2023

National Asthma Council Australia - Resources
Provides links to various charts and checklists for the treatment of asthma, COPD and allergic rhinitis.
Academic Earth
Academic Earth was launched on the premise that everyone deserves access to a world-class education. It includes links to a range of freely available tertiary level courses.
edX
Includes courses from Australian and international universities, plus lecture notes, reading lists, open access textbooks and other related course materials.
Merlot
Includes a range of freely available courses, texts and learning exercises. Search by discipline to find relevant resources.

Revision and self-assessment tools

Online resources

Consolidate your learning and test your knowledge with there free resources.

PassMedicine

Medical student years 1-3 is free of charge. You need to subscribe to access the content.

Geeky Medics

Your Subject Librarians

This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Medicine (Joint Medical Program) and Biomedical Science are:

Teaching Liaison Librarian

Jennifer Goh

Fiona Jones

Research Liaison Librarian

Gemma Milton