Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Informit Indigenous collection This link opens in a new window
This collection contains specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, eBooks and grey literature on Indigenous Australian people and issues unavailable elsewhere online. Some full-text.
Warning: The records in this database may contain names and/or images of deceased Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
BlackWords This link opens in a new window
Indigenous creative writing, film, television, criticism and scholarly work by and about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers, and literary and storytelling cultures.
Learning Ground Indigenous Education Research Database This link opens in a new window
Database of national and international publications focusing on Indigenous education. Encompasses areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Subjects include gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology. Some full text.
Social science journals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Access to journal articles covering a range of topics including gender, minority studies and activism.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archival access to scholarly journals published in the Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences.
Click here to access all databases the University of Newcastle subscribes to.
History, news and culture
Companion to Australian Aboriginal Literature
Australian Aboriginal literature, once relegated to the margins of Australian literary studies, now receives both national and international attention.
Aboriginal placenames naming and re-naming the Australian landscape
The 19 studies brought together in this book present an overview of current issues involving Indigenous placenames across the whole of Australia, drawing on the disciplines of geography, linguistics, history, and anthropology. They include meticulous studies of historical records, and perspectives stemming from contemporary Indigenous communities.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Collection of reference material including encyclopaedia, dictionaries and other reference books.
ClickView This link opens in a new window
Streaming video solution offering access to thousands of educational videos and resources covering a broad range of topics, as well as TV programs recorded in the last 14 days from free-to-air digital channels.
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming films, documentaries and training videos. New releases daily.
First Nations Speaker Series
Listen to, and engage with, a range of presenters who will discuss First Nations heritage, history and culture and issues affecting people today. Presented by GML Heritage, Sydney Living Museums and the Research Centre for Deep History at the Australian National University.
The gold mine has closed and Warrego has become a ghost town so the local primary school will have to close. To keep his school going the principal, Colin Baker, has found that the way to encourage children from a remote Aboriginal community to come to the school is by agreeing to teach them to ride horses. Warning: this program may cause distress to members of the Aboriginal community as it may contain images or voices of deceased persons.
"The First Australians" SBS
Chronicles the birth of contemporary Australia as never told before, from the perspective of its first people.
National Archives of Australia
Responsible for caring for the most significant records received, created or kept by government agencies.
Australian Historic Newspapers (Trove)
Australian newspaper archives 1803 - 2007
NSW State Archives and Records
The State Archives and Records Authority of New South Wales (NSW State Archives and Records) is one of Australia’s pre-eminent Archives and Records Authorities with a vast collection of historical records and archives dating back to the European settlement of Australia in 1788.
National Film and Sound Archive
Australia’s audiovisual archive, collecting, preserving and sharing film, documentaries and oral histories
Indigenous Archives Collective
The Indigenous Archives Collective connects people working with Indigenous knowledge sources in galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
ACER - Indigenous Education
An independent body that works collaboratively with Indigenous learners and communities undertaking research to inform policy, programs and practices to support improved outcomes for Indigenous learners.
Aussie Educator: Indigenous Education
Provides information and links to a range of education resources related to Indigenous education in Australian states and territories.
ANZ Newsstand (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full text of major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
Capital Monitor This link opens in a new window
Provides Australian parliamentary, political, legislative, regulatory and judicial news and information.
eBook and reference works
Other Library Collections
Use these links to access free resources from the NSW State Library and the Australia National Library.