Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Community Services Databases
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Community Services databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
Informit database collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 90 Australian databases across a wide range of subjects.
Social work abstracts This link opens in a new window
Topics cover homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization. 4 concurrent users
Counseling & Therapy This link opens in a new window
Streaming video and guides for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology and psychiatric counseling.
EBSCO Megafile Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal databases and indexes covering social sciences, business, health, education, sciences and humanities
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,600 law and law-related periodicals, covering criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more.
ProQuest databases This link opens in a new window
Over 15 journal databases of abstracted and full-text articles covering all subject areas
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics and engineering.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Community Services web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Community Services groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW)
The professional body for social workers that sets the benchmarks for professional education and practice in social work and advocates for social justice, human rights and issues that impact upon the quality of life of all Australians.
Australian Community Workers Association (ACWA)
ACWA is the professional body for qualified community workers in Australia that supports community workers in every sphere of their work life from setting educational standards through to determining an ethical practice framework.
Brotherhood of St. Laurence
Non-government, community-based organisation concerned with social justice. Based in Melbourne, it is working for a better deal for disadvantaged people and provides important services for people who need them most.
Catholic Social Services Australia (CSSA)
CSSA is Australia’s national network of community based Catholic organisations providing social services to and advocacy for those most in need.
Homelessness Australia is the national peak body for homelessness in Australia. They are a voluntary organisation that provides systemic advocacy for the homelessness sector.
Mental Health Australia
A national non-government organisation representing and promoting the interests of the Australian mental health sector and committed to achieving better mental health for all Australians.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Community Services are: