LibGuides: Indigenisation resources: Cultural Identity &amp; Protocols

About You Can't Ask That: Indigenous

Insightful, irreverent, moving and unpredictable, this episode sets the record straight about what it's really like to be an Indigenous Australian.

Hosted in the Library's ClickView database

About Ask us anything: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island people

Is it ever OK to ask how someone how Aboriginal they are? Our students and staff answer anonymously submitted questions to confront myths and stereotypes about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

Hosted on the University of Sydney's YouTube channel

Featured resources

Growing up Aboriginal in Australia by Anita Heiss (ed)
Publication Date: 2018

What is it like to grow up Aboriginal in Australia? This anthology showcases diverse voices, experiences and stories to answer that question. Contributors include: Tony Birch, Deborah Cheetham, Adam Goodes, Terri Janke, Patrick Johnson, Ambelin Kwaymullina, Jack Latimore, Celeste Liddle, Amy McQuire, Kerry Reed-Gilbert, Miranda Tapsell, Jared Thomas, Aileen Walsh, Alexis West, Tara June Winch, and more.
Communicating effectively with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people by Queensland Health
Publication Date: 2015

This information sheet provides a general guide for communicating effectively with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.
The politics of identity: Who counts as Aboriginal today? by Bronwyn Carlson
Publication Date: 2016

Carlson explores the complexities surrounding Aboriginal identity today. Drawing on a range of historical and research literature, interviews and surveys, this book explores Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal understandings of Aboriginality and the way these are produced and reproduced across a range of sites and contexts.

Books

Access a pre-set Library catalogue search

Journal articles

Access a pre-set Library catalogue search

Films and TV shows

Web links

Oxfam Australia Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Cultural Protocols - These cultural protocols provide guidance for OAus staff and volunteers to ensure their work respects Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural beliefs and practices.
Australians Together (2020). Language and Terminology Guide - Provides information and links to a range of education resources related to Indigenous education in all Australian states and Territories.
ACU- First Peoples' knowledges - This guide is designed to raise awareness and understanding of Indigenous Australian knowledge, cultures and histories.
NSW Gov - Aboriginal cultural protocols and practices - Respect for cultural practices is important in providing culturally safe and diverse environments. community and in workplaces. Aboriginal culture and heritage is diverse and these practices may differ across locations and groups..

Specialist databases

BlackWords - Covers all forms of creative writing, film, television, criticism and scholarship, both by and about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers, and literary and storytelling cultures.
Informit Indigenous Collection - Contains specialist journals, conference papers, reports, magazines, eBooks and grey literature unavailable elsewhere online. Some full-text.
Learning Ground Indigenous Education Research Database - Database of national and international publications focusing on Indigenous education. Encompasses areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.

Indigenisation resources: Cultural Identity & Protocols

Featured videos