Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in databases is a great way to ensure you're getting the best possible search results. Try these Criminology databases to find resources that are most relevant to your discipline.
BenchTV This link opens in a new window
BenchTV produce high quality, video content for legal educational purposes covering topics such as advocacy, alternative dispute resolution, family law, torts/negligence, environmental and criminal law.
EBSCO Megafile Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text journal databases and indexes covering social sciences, business, health, education, sciences and humanities
Informit database collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 90 Australian databases across a wide range of subjects.
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,600 law and law-related periodicals, covering criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights, and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Criminology This link opens in a new window
A much-needed online guide to the essential literature across virtually all areas of criminology.
ProQuest databases This link opens in a new window
Over 15 journal databases covering all areas of social sciences and sciences including criminology.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics and engineering.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Scopus has a limit of 2,000 citation exports.
U.S. Attorney General & Department of Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes the official reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, as well as guides, handbooks, hearings, and other materials related to the study of criminal justice in the United States.
Lexis Advance - Practical Guidance Collection This link opens in a new window
Legal updates, guidance notes, primary law, precedents, forms, checklists and excerpts from LexisNexis.
Evaluate the resources you find online carefully, as not all are suitable quality for use in your studies. These Criminology web resources are recommended by your University of Newcastle Library.
ABS Crime and Justice Data
ABS Crime and Justice data provides statistics on prisoners, victims, offenders, services, crimes, and other matters.
Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC)
Australia's national criminal intelligence agency that works with the law enforcement partners to improve the national ability to respond to crime impacting Australia.
Australian Institute of Criminology (AIC) publications
AIC publications can be browsed by title or searched by keywords.
NSW Bureau of Crime Statistics and Research
NSW crime statistics data, research publication and other related information
Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP)
ODPP website providing guidelines, media releases, fact sheets and other publications.
US National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
NCJRS Virtual Library contains bibliographic information and abstracts of more than 230,000 collection resources and over 80,000 online materials.
It can be valuable to build your career prospects and networks by connecting with professional associations. You might like to engage with these Criminology groups as a student, or even throughout your career.
Dictionaries & Encyclopaedias
Useful resources for understanding your topic and finding the right keywords to use in your searching.
Your Subject Librarians
This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting Criminology are: