Enabling Pathways Library Guide: Newstep

Guide to assist Open Foundation and Newstep students find information for assignments

Click on the tab for your S1 course to see help with assignments requiring research or referencing.

You will still need to access your assignment documents for more in-depth direction such as word limits, etc.

EPARTS190 - Design Drawing

Last updated 16/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Disclaimer: The information provided on this page is meant as a guide only. All details were correct as at the date noted - check your assessment information and Blackboard announcements for any changes that may have been made by your lecturer.

Assessment 2: Written analysis
Topic	Research and identify a variety of rendering techniques used by artists or designers in published illustrations, and produce a written analysis on two techniques, with accompanying images, references and bibliography.
Resources needed	Find a published illustration or drawing (no paintings!) from each of your 4 selected artists; Collect your images from at least two different types of sources, including books, journals, magazines, exhibitions, and the web; Your research must come from 4 different sources, using a mix of books, journals, magazines, exhibition catalogues, and the web.
Referencing style	Harvard referencing Don't forget to check out the image referencing document in your Blackboard course.
Example Library catalogue searches	[artist name] AND drawing [artist name] AND illustration [artist name] AND [particular technique] [artist name] AND [particular medium]
Suggested readings	Will depend on your chosen artists - check your assignment list.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the sources you need for your images. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Writing strong paragraphs NewSpace student? Drop in to the GP Building at Callaghan for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPHUMA120 - Media and Communications

Last updated 07/09/2019 TBC for Semester 2 2020

Assessment 1: Weekly blog posts
Topic	Each week students must post a link and a 150 word comment in the 'Blog' tab
Resources needed	Locate resources as directed in Blackboard (e.g. news sotry, opinion piece, TV show, etc.)
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Suggested readings	The readings provided in your Blackboard course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Writing Strong Paragraphs guide Callaghan student? Drop in to a CAPS session in the McMullin Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 3: Essay [TO BE CONFIRMED]
Topic	Using real world examples (Australian or overseas), describe four ways that traditional media companies are utilising 'new' media to engage and/or increase their audience.
Resources needed	Use credible sources such as: academic journal articles reliable media outlets the resources provided in your Blackboard course
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	"traditional media" AND "social media" "traditional media" AND "social networking" "media companies" AND "new media" television AND "new media" newspapers AND "new media" radio AND "new media"
Suggested readings	The readings and links provided in your Blackboard course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: How to Write an Essay guide Callaghan student? Drop in to a CAPS session in the McMullin Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPHUMA122 - Academic Literacies (S1)

Last updated 02/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 2: Partial essay
Topic	Write a full introduction and first body paragraph to the essay question: "Outline 3 elements of the reputation of modern emerging adults and explain with evidence whether these are justified".
Resources needed	Only use the sources provided in the EPHUMA122 course (around 2 to 3). One of these must come from the additional Blackboard Readings provided for this topic.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Suggested readings	Your tutorial readings The additional Blackboard Readings provided in your course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Writing Strong Paragraphs guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 3: Major essay
Topic	Outline and explain three difficulties young people face in finding their self-identity.
Resources needed	Use at least 3 texts (from this course only): at least one online reading taken from the Blackboard Readings plus sources from the course reader and films studied.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Suggested readings	Your tutorial readings The additional Blackboard Readings provided in your course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: How to Plan an Essay guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 6: Take Home Examination - Essay
Topic	Submit a final essay, based upon Maus and its associated themes. Exam essay question will be provided in the Week 12 lectures.
Resources needed	Maus: A Survivor's Tale At least two other texts studied throughout Weeks 9–12
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Suggested readings	The readings provided in your Blackboard course.
How the Library can help with this assignment	The Library and other Newstep support staff are unable to help with this assessment - see the assignment declaration regarding academic integrity.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: How to Write an Essay guide

EPHUMA123 - Academic Literacies 2 (S2)

Last updated 07/09/2019 TBC for Semester 2 2020

Assessment 2: Annotated bibliography
Topic	Provide two annotated bibliographic references for selected sources that they have used to research their conspiracy theory topic for their oral assessment task (Assessment 3).
Resources needed	One resource must be from the EPHUMA123 Blackboard Readings for the oral task, One resource must be a website.
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Suggested readings	The Blackboard Readings for the oral task.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Annotated Bibliography guide Callaghan student? Drop in to a CAPS session in the McMullin Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 3: Oral presentation
Topic	Give an oral presentation on the conspiracy theory topic selected in Week 4 tutorials. There will be no electronic submission with this presentation.
Resources needed	At least 1 reading from Blackboard must be used, plus suitable websites.
Referencing style	Referencing not required
Suggested readings	The Blackboard Readings for the oral task.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with analysing your sources for the presentation. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Presentation Skills guide Callaghan student? Drop in to a CAPS session in the McMullin Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 4: Research Report
Topic	Write a report concentrating on any three of the following elements of the traditional Australian way of life, and the extent that they remain relevant in contemporary Australia: Stereotypes; Traditional values; Sporting Culture; Anglo-Heritage.
Resources needed	At least 1 resource from each of the following: Readings from your Course Reader, Resources from your Blackboard Readings [Course Readings > Australian Identity folder] YouTube clips are not acceptable resources for this assessment.
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Suggested readings	Your tutorial readings in your Course Reader The online readings provided in Blackboard [Blackboard Readings > Course Readings > Australian Identity folder]
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	The Report Check List on the Assessments page in Blackboard. Academic Skills: Report Writing guide Callaghan student? Drop in to a CAPS session in the McMullin Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPHUMA137 - Australian Culture and Society

Last updated 16/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 2: Annotated bibliography
Topic	Provide two annotated bibliographic references of sources that you will use to further research a topic from week 4 to 7 of this course. Compose two separate annotated bibliographies that summarise and critique the sources
Resources needed	One media source (e.g. a news story online, documentary, or TV news), and One academic source (must be peer reviewed).
Referencing style	Harvard referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	Will depend on your chosen topic - Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Suggested readings	Will depend on your chosen topic - check your Blackboard course. Book a Librarian if you need assistance.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic source you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Guidance evaluating your sources (what to think about). Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Annotated Bibliography guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 4: Project - Online blog
Topic	Submit a blog post that reflects on hypothetical individual, personal issues and attribute the wider social issues that are responsible for them. Use a minimum of 3 aspects of the sociological imagination (e.g. historical, cultural, structural or critical) to explain an individual’s personal problem / social issue, based on themes and issues discussed in weeks 2-10. You should include 1-2 current pictures that demonstrate your chosen social issue, such as graphs, research data or diagrams. After your blog is published online a Word document containing the text of your blog and it’s URL must be submitted via Turnitin.
Resources needed	At least 4 sources: Two references from reputable news sources, and Two peer-reviewed/academic sources (journal articles and books).
Referencing style	Harvard referencing All sources, including pictures, must be correctly referenced.
Example Library catalogue searches	Will depend on your chosen topic - Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Suggested readings	Will depend on your chosen topic - check your Blackboard course. Book a Librarian if you need assistance.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic source you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Guidance evaluating your sources (what to think about). Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Top Tips to Write Well guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPHUMA148 - Introduction to Linguistics

Last updated 01/05/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 3: Research assignment, PART 1
Topic	Use the template provided to prepare for Part 2 of the Research Assignment (below), demonstrating knowledge gained from your initial research on your nominated constructed language (conlang). Callaghan students - you will need to complete an annotated bibliography for Part 1. Ourimbah students - you will need to complete an essay plan for Part 1.
Resources needed	Part 2 requires different types of sources, so start looking for: At least 1 peer-reviewed journal article qood quality web sources with a linguistics or language focus, such as web pages, 'fan' sites (with appropriate depth), online magazine articles. Wikipedia is not an acceptable source. Collecting good sources now will save time later.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	[conlang name, e.g. Dothraki] "constructed language" conlang "planned language" "fictional language" Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Suggested readings	An Introduction to Language [your textbook] - print book, or ebook For the love of language: An introduction to linguistics [print book] Why You Should Learn Dothraki and Other Conlangs [Living Language]
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding readings that will answer the assignment needs. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: How to Plan an Essay guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 4: Research assignment, PART 2
Topic	Select one constructed language from the list and answer the questions on that conlang's background/origin and development, linguistic features, social context, etc.
Resources needed	You must use 4 or more different sources: At least 1 peer-reviewed journal article At least 1 text book on linguistics (this may be your course textbook), qood quality web sources with a linguistics or language focus, such as web pages, 'fan' sites (with appropriate depth), online magazine articles. Wikipedia is not an acceptable source. You may find that you will need additional sources to your research from Assessment 4.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	[conlang name, e.g. Dothraki] "constructed language" conlang "planned language" "fictional language" Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Suggested readings	An Introduction to Language [your textbook] - print book, or ebook For the love of language: An introduction to linguistics [print book] Other sources will depend on your chosen topic - Book a Librarian if you need assistance.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: How to Write an Essay guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPHUMA155 - Applied Legal Studies

Last updated 02/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 2: Essay
Topic	Discuss how effective the current Australian law is effective is in protecting people against ‘inappropriate’ and criminal behaviour on social media. Would an increase in severity of criminal punishments and civil damages be more effective in deterring potential offenders?
Resources needed	Australia passes social media law penalising platforms for violent content (The Guardian) "Dolly's Law" - putting cyberbullies on notice (Communities & Justice) Cyber-bullying (Youth Law Australia) Former mayor awarded $120,000 over defamatory Facebook posts (SMH) Plus legal sources such as: legislation, cases, and academic legal articles.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	"social media" AND punishment "online safety" AND deter* "social networks" AND safety "social media" AND law* "social networks" AND crim* cyberbullying and deter* "sharing violent material" AND punishment
Suggested readings	The examples linked above The Social Media Resources file in your Blackboard course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the readings you need. Finding legislation. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Library guide to finding legislation Australian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) Academic Skills: How to Plan an Essay guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPHUMA160 - Film Studies

Last updated 31/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 1: Blogs & discussion
Topic	Submit written comments to an online blog, referring to the weekly reading. After each tutorial, students must contribute a comment to the weekly discussion board (on Blackboard) to reflect on their initial thoughts.
Resources needed	Weekly readings are available on Blackboard.
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing OR APA 7th referencing
Suggested readings	The readings provided in your Blackboard course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Writing Strong Paragraphs guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 3: Essay
Topic	Choose one of the films from the viewing list from Weeks 6-8. Describe the use of editing and sound, and how they help convey the film's themes.
Resources needed	a film from the list of those studied, at least 6 academic sources (course reader, journal articles), do not use web resources for this essay.
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing OR APA 7th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	[film title] AND [theme] [film title] AND editing [film title] AND sound [film title] AND score [director name] AND editing [director name] AND sound See the 'Essay Assessment Overview' PDF for suggested themes, etc.
Suggested readings	The readings provided in your Blackboard course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: How to Write an Essay guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPINFO150 - Information Technology

Last updated 31/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 1: Online journal
Topic	Engage with course material through regular online journal entries. Assigned questions, readings and activities will form the basis for the journal entries.
Resources needed	Readings are available on Blackboard. Additional resources where required.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing for any resources you refer to.
Suggested readings	The readings provided in your Blackboard course
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding any additional resources needed. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Writing Strong Paragraphs guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 3: Group presentations
Topic	Research and present (in groups) on an IT-related topic (list on Blackboard). Submission of written copies of presentations is also required. Group topics are available on Blackboard - each topic can be taken by only one group.
Resources needed	Academic sources (books, chapters, and journal articles). News and web sources. Statistics and experimental results. Video and audio clips as appropriate. Pictures, graphs, etc., as appropriate.
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	Will depend on your chosen topic - Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Suggested readings	Will depend on your chosen topic - Book a Librarian to get assistance.
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Need video/audio clips? Try our Kanopy and ClickView video streaming databases. Both allow you to create short clips. Academic Skills: Group Work and Presentation Skills guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPSCIE120 - Studies in Science

Last updated 02/03/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 2: Library & referencing exercise
Topic	Complete the worksheet by finding the resources noted and then referencing them.
Resources needed	the Library catalogue to find the book and article items Google to locate the web page item the APA 6th referencing guide for the referencing component
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	See the worksheet for the search terms (in bold)
Suggested readings	The Library's online tutorials page has videos that show how to use the Library catalogue Quick Guide to APA 6th Referencing
How the Library can help with this assignment	Showing you how to use the Library catalogue Assistance with referencing (but we won't do it for you!). Book a Librarian to get assistance.

Assessment 3: Scientific report
Topic	Use information provided in tutorials to generate a scientific report on gibberellic acid and dwarf pea plants.
Resources needed	At least 3 reference sources such as : journal articles, your textbook, or authoritative websites.
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	"gibberellic acid" AND "dwarf pea" "gibberellic acid" AND plants Gibberellin AND "dwarf pea"
Suggested readings	The Sciences: An Integrated Approach [your textbook] Biochemistry and Molecular Biology of Plants [ebook]
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the extra sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Report Writing guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 5: Environmental scientific report
Topic	Undertake a field practical and use the data generated to produce a scientific report (vegetation survey) using skills gained from Assessment 3.
Resources needed	At least 3 reference sources such as : journal articles, your textbook, or authoritative websites.
Referencing style	APA 6th referencing
Example Library catalogue searches	Will depend on your focus - Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Suggested readings	The Sciences: An Integrated Approach [your textbook]
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the extra sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Academic Skills: Report Writing guide Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

EPSCIE130 - Studies in Health Science

Last updated 18/05/2020 Checked for S1 2020

Assessment 3: Literature report
Topic	Part A: Complete a guided literature report on telomeres. Part B: Produce an A4 fact sheet (in portrait orientation) about telomeres suitable for high school students.
Resources needed	Use only the resources listed in the assignment document (see Blackboard).
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing (APA 6 is also acceptable)
Suggested readings	How to Pass National 5 Biology [Unit 1, Key Area 1.3 – Producing new cells]
How the Library can help with this assignment	Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance

Assessment 4: Case study
Topic	Students will be assigned 1 of 4 different genetic diseases for which a report is to be written.
Resources needed	At least 5 different references should be used, including: at least one textbook, and at least one recent journal article (<15 years old). Authoritative websites may also be used (such as WHO.int).
Referencing style	APA 7th referencing (APA 6 is also acceptable)
Example Library catalogue searches	"Huntington's disease" "Haemophilia A" "Beta thalassemia major" "Marfan syndrome" Remember to check for alternate spellings (see the library session handout in Blackboard for possibilities). Book a Librarian to get assistance. Can't find what you need? Try searching in the health resources ClinicalKey and/or BMJ Best Practice
Suggested readings	Introduction to the human body: The essentials of anatomy and physiology [print book] Essentials of Anatomy & Physiology [print book]
How the Library can help with this assignment	Finding the academic sources you need. Accessing ejournals and ebooks. Guidance evaluating your sources (what to think about). Assistance with referencing. Book a Librarian to get assistance.
Other things that will help	Callaghan student? Drop in to the GP Building for assignment assistance. Ourimbah student? Visit a Writing Drop-In in the Ourimbah Library for assistance