Where to locate research metrics - Researcher Skills Toolkit - LibGuides at University of Newcastle Library

Skip to Main Content

Research metrics

Metrics and researchers

Metrics and institutions

Responsible metrics

Where to locate metrics

Types of research metrics

Measuring impact in the arts, humanities and creative industries

Keeping up-to-date

Telling your metrics story

Visualising impact

Library resources and support

Where to locate metrics

Research publication metrics can be located using several databases and tools. The following are the most common sources.

	Produced by	Elsevier
	Description	A multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly literature from 1996 onwards. Source materials include over 26,000 international journals (from 7,000 publishers), conference abstracts, and over 2 million books.
	Coverage	Scopus Content coverage guide List of included journals Book title list
	Access	The University of Newcastle subscribes to Scopus.
	Support materials	How to search for an author and view their profile (2.44 minutes) How to assess an author's impact (3:39 minutes) How to create citation overviews (2:48 minutes) How to vide document metrics in Scopus (3:37 minutes) Overview of journal metrics (3:49 minutes)

	Produced by	Elsevier
	Description	SciVal is a companion research analytics and benchmarking tool to Scopus. SciVal receives a weekly update of new data from Scopus. Scopus is a multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly literature from 1996 onwards. Source materials include over 26,000 international journals (from 7,000 publishers), conference abstracts, and over 2 million books.
	Coverage	Scopus Content coverage guide List of included journals Book title list
	Access	The University of Newcastle subscribes to SciVal.
	Support materials	Research Metrics Guidebook - facts about how the data underlying the metrics are used, how the metrics are calculated and displayed, and about variables besides performance that can affect the metrics

	Produced by	Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson, ISI)
	Description	The Web of Science includes four journal citation indexes - Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and the Emerging Sources Citation Index. Approximately 21,000 international journal titles are indexed.
	Coverage	Web of Science Master Journal List
	Access	The University of Newcastle subscribes to Web of Science.
	Support materials	Introduction to author records – YouTube (3:10 minutes) Authors: Take control of your author record – YouTube (4:13 minutes) Curating author records – YouTube (3:43 minutes) Web of Science Essentials (1:03 minutes) Web of Science Essentials Advanced (1:13 minutes)

	Produced by	Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson, ISI)
	Description	InCites is a companion analytics and benchmarking tool to Clarivate Analytics. The Web of Science includes four journal citation indexes - Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and the Emerging Sources Citation Index. Approximately 21,000 international journal titles are indexed.
	Coverage	Web of Science Master Journal List
	Access	The University of Newcastle subscribes to InCites.
	Support materials	InCites Essentials (1:06 minutes) InCites indicators handbook (PDF)

	Produced by	Digital Science
	Description	Dimensions indexes a range of research outputs. No details are available of the range, number and variety of publications indexed or the selection process used for adding source publications.
	Coverage	Unknown
	Access	The University of Newcastle does not subscribe to this database. A free version is available.
	Support materials	How to find a researcher in Dimensions – YouTube (2:30 minutes) How to use Dimensions data in scientometrics research - YouTube (28:24 minutes)

	Produced by	Digital Science
	Description	Altmetric Explorer tracks mentions of research outputs (publications and datasets) in social media, news media, blogs, Wikipedia, and engagement on scholarly platforms, plus citations in patents and policy documents. It is also possible to generate analytical reports for individual outputs, authors, groups of researchers, or schools.
	Coverage	Twitter, blogs, FaceBook, policies, patents, Wikipedia, news services, including national and international newspapers.
	Access	The University of Newcastle subscribes to Altmetric Explorer.
	Support materials	Altmetric Explorer for institutions into video – YouTube (8:09 minutes) What are ‘altmetrics’? - YouTube (3:57 minutes)

	Produced by	Google
	Description	Google Scholar that indexes academic resources and scholarly literature including abstracts, journal articles, theses, books, and more from across many disciplines.
	Coverage	Unknown. The Inclusion Guidelines for Webmasters includes details about how Google Scholar indexes websites
	Access	Google Scholar

Harzing's Publish or Perish	Produced by	Anne-Wil Harzing
	Description	Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyses academic citations. It uses a variety of data sources (including Google Scholar), to obtain the raw citations, then analyses these and presents a range of citation metrics, including the number of papers, total citations, and the h-index.
	Coverage	Various
	Access	Free download
	Support materials	Publish or Perish training resources

	Produced by	Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson, ISI)
	Description	Journal Citation Reports aggregates metrics on journals included in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI).
	Coverage	Web of Science Master Journal List
	Access	The University of Newcastle subscribes to Journal Citation Reports.
	Support materials	J ournal impact factor and article level data (2:00 minutes) Journal impact factor trend graph (1:39 minutes) JCR citation distribution (1:34 minutes)

	Produced by	SCImago
	Description	SJR Journal Rankings groups over 27,000 journals by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (309 specific subject categories) or by country.
	Coverage	SJR Journals
	Access	Free via the SJR Rankings website. Also included in Scopus and SciVal