Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter TAFE Links for Laboratory Techniques
Go to the Hunter TAFE Library Service homepage to find links to databases, eBooks, eVideos, research assistance, and subject guides.
Use your TAFE username & password to access electronic resources.
You can also search TAFEcat (the NSW TAFE Library catalogue) to locate books. Find out more about requesting books from other TAFE libraries.
Guides that can provide useful resources for your studies are:
Call Numbers for Laboratory Techniques
||Pathology - diagnosis and prognosis
Laboratory Techniques @ Ourimbah Library
Below are some key journals for Laboratory Techniques. Search NewCat+ for other relevant titles.
A library database is a collection of online material, usually journal articles and ebooks. A database may also include other material such as streaming video, standards and fact sheets. Some databases will focus on one subject area and others will be multidisciplinary, that is, have information about a wide range of topics.
Listed below are some databases which may be useful for your studies in Laboratory Techniques. There are many more databases available on the UON library website.
As a Hunter TAFE staff member or student you will also have access to the databases available on the Hunter TAFE website.
Australian Public Affairs Full Text
Articles from Australian journals and newspapers covering business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Limited full text.
Over 15 journal databases of abstracted and full-text articles including: ABI/INFORM, Academic Research Library, Nursing and Allied Health Source, Proquest Education Journals and Proquest Social Science Journals.
Companion database to the PsycINFO. Document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more.
Behavioral sciences and mental health. Includes related disciplines such as medicine, law, social work, neuroscience, business, nursing, forensics and engineering.
Access full-text journal articles from the life, medical, technical, social and physical sciences. Includes more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals, books and conference proceedings in a wide range of disciplines. Includes author and affiliation searches, citation impact and analytical tools.
Scopus has a limit of 2,000 citation exports.
Scopus no longer supports Internet Explorer 10 or lower.
Web of science
Indexes high impact journals through ISI's citation indexes: Science Citation Index Expanded - 1956 to present; Social Sciences Citation Index - 1956 to present; Arts and Humanities Citation Index - 1975 to present.
- Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia
Australasia's leading medical diagnostic organization. Resources include fact sheets and manuals.
- Pathology resources
An interactive Pathology resource that gives access points to the disease either via parts of the body (eg lung, heart etc) or the relevant disease process (eg neoplasm, infection etc).
- Chemistry and Laboratory Resources
Information on a range of chemistry related areas including laboratory instrumentation and techniques.
- Polymer Chemistry resource
An excellent glossary provided by the University of Sydney
- Knovel Critical Tables
Tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 13,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have 385 solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have 500 compounds.
Laboratory Government Standards
Workplace Health & Safety