Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hunter TAFE Links for Building & Construction
Go to the Hunter TAFE Library Service homepage to find links to databases, eBooks, eVideos, research assistance, and subject guides.
Use your TAFE username & password to access electronic resources.
You can also search TAFEcat (the NSW TAFE Library catalogue) to locate books. Find out more about requesting books from other TAFE libraries.
Subject Guides that can provide useful resources for your studies are:
Call Numbers for Building & Construction
||Building and Construction
||Workplace Health & Safety
Building & Construction @ Ourimbah Library
A library database is a collection of online material, usually journal articles and ebooks. A database may also include items such as streaming video, standards and fact sheets. Some databases will focus on one subject area and others will be multidisciplinary, that is, have information about a wide range of topics.
Listed below are some databases which may be useful for your studies in Building and Construction. There are many more databases available on the UON library website.
As a Hunter TAFE staff member or student you will also have access to the databases available on the Hunter TAFE website.
Australian Standards online
Full-text Australian Standards only. Searching is by standard title, number, keyword or phrase.
5 concurrent users - Please LOGOUT at the end of your session
Registration required to view, print, and download standards. Upon your first access attempt, you will be prompted to register using your UON email address and a password. In all future sessions you will be prompted to use these credentials to log in.
Hazardous Substances Information System (HSIS)
Produced by Safe Work Australia. Provides access to information on all chemicals in the workplace that are classified as Hazardous Substances.
MAK collection for occupational health and safety
Includes both the toxicological substantiation of threshold values for chemicals at the workplace (MAK and BAT values) plus the suitable monitoring methods. MAK and BAT values are listed for nearly 1000 substances as well as more than 600 full-text documents in PDF-format.
National construction code of Australia
The NCC Online covers the 3 volumes of the Building Code of Australia, as well as the Guide to the BCA and the BCA Archive. Volume 3 is the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA). Access is free but you are required to register.
Below are some key journals for Building and Construction. Search NewCat+ for other relevant titles.
Australian Building Websites
Australian Websites for Resources, Legislation, Regulations
A database of over 900,000 pages of building industry and home improvement Resources, Companies and Opportunities.
A searchable database of over 240,000 Building Industry Web Pages.
- Electronic Journals/Papers
Virtual Library - electronic journals link