Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health sciences and medicine
Before starting work on a systematic review first check to ensure that a systematic review does not already exist, or is currently under investigation.
Joanna Briggs Institute
Evidence based resource for nursing, midwifery, dietetics, physiotherapy, podiatry, radiography.
Database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources.
Randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PROSPERO - International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews
International database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid unplanned duplication and enable comparison of reported review methods with what was planned in the protocol.
Subset of EvidenceUpdates, includes primary studies and systematic reviews from over 110 journals (including all Cochrane reviews) relevant to obesity. Includes ratings for each eligible article for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Free registration
Subset of EvidenceUpdates, includes primary studies and systematic reviews from 110 journals (including all Cochrane reviews) on rehabilitation. Free registration
Subset of EvidenceUpdates, includes primary studies and systematic reviews from 110 journals (including all Cochrane reviews) on nursing. Free registration
Systematic reviews and their included studies on health systems and population health.
PsycBITE: Psychological Database for Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy
Includes systematic reviews and other literature on psychological problems and issues following acquired brain impairment.
Databases indexing systematic reviews
The following databases index a range of publications and study designs, including systematic reviews.
Broad content coverage for nursing, midwifery and allied health specialties, speech and language pathology, general health and medicine.
A comprehensive collection of biomedical and pharmacological journals.
Journal database covering biomedicine, nursing, life sciences, toxicology, nutrition and other related disciplines.
Locating systematic reviews in other disciplines