It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library Guides
Mechanical Engineering: Patents & Standards
A Library Guide of Mechanical Engineering resources for students and staff of the University of Newcastle
"A patent is a legally enforceable right for a device, substance, method or process. For your application to be successful, your invention must be new, useful and inventive or innovative. When granted, a patent will give you exclusive commercial rights to your invention." (IP Australia)
Patents from the US Patent and Trademark Office and European Patent Office. Includes patent and non-patent references, inventors and assignees, patent abstracts, links to full-text PDF patent documents, U.S patent classication codes, European Classification system (ECLA) codes and International Patent Classification system (IPC) codes. The database can be cross-searched with other databases on Engineering Village (Compendex, Inspec, GeoBase and GeoRef), retrieving results both from patents and scientific literature.
Provides access to intellectual property data collections such as PCT (Patents), Madrid (Trademarks), Hague (Industrial Designs), Article 6ter (State Emblems, Official Hallmarks, and Emblems of Intergovernmental Organizations).
What is a Standard?
"Standards are documents setting out specifications, procedures and guidelines. They are designed to ensure products, services and systems are safe, reliable and consistent." (Standards Australia)
Full-text Australian Standards only. Searching is by standard title, number, keyword or phrase. 5 concurrent users - Please LOGOUT at the end of your session
Registration required to view, print, and download standards. Upon your first access attempt, you will be prompted to register using your UON email address and a password. In all future sessions you will be prompted to use these credentials to log in.
Over 3-million full-text documents in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications.
The Library's subscription INCLUDES IEEE Journals, Conference Proceedings and Standards (published and approved).
The Library's Subscription EXCLUDES IEEE Draft Standards.
Please Note: Non-Australian Standards not held by the University of Newcastle can be requested via Get It(by Staff or Students)
This resource provides access to the current collection of ASTM Standards using IHS Standards Expert. These standards begin with the acronym 'ASTM'. IHS Standards Expert also provides access to an index of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes, regulations and related documents from government, military and commercial sources. Users need to create an individual log-in to access the search screen, then limit the search to 'My Subscriptions', otherwise results will include standards and codes which are not part of our available access