Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

COVID-19 Library Help Guide: Subject support

This guide provides some curated online support for UON Library
Subject support

Subject support

This page provides links to quick guides and videos to help you with the various resources that are relevant to your subject.

A great place to find Library resources relevant to your subject are the Subject Resource Guides that can be accessed from the Library homepage.

Support for Business subjects

Our Business Subject Resource guides will provide links to resources relevant to your subject.  Wtach the video below to learn more:

 

You can also check out our PDF guide below:

Support for Education & Arts subjects

The Subject Resource guides will provide links to resources relevant to your subject.  Watch the video below to learn more:

 

 

You can also check out our PDF guides below:


Some helpful videos for Humanities subjects

(N.B. these videos use Education as their main example but they are useful for other Humanities subjects also)

Using databases

Using the Library catalogue

Navigating the Library homepage

Support for Science, Architecture & Engineering subjects

The Subject Resource guides will provide links to resources relevant to your subject.  Watch the video below to learn more:

 

 

You can also check out our PDF guides below:

Support for Health & Medicine subjects

The Health Subject Resource guides will provide links to resources relevant to your subject.  Watch the video below to learn more:

 
Our guide to understanding health research - EBP for Undergrads - covers types of studies, critical appraisal, and more.
 

Get help using health databases

Click on the link above to access:

  • PDF searching guides for the Medline and CINAHL databases
  • PDF quick guides for health resources including BMJ Best Practice; UpToDate; Joanna Briggs Institue (JBI); Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH); and MIMS

Or try the online database tutorials - CINAHL, Medline, Embase, PsycINFO, Nursing & Allied Health, and Informit Health.


Online Library Tutorials
- videos on how to find information for assignments using searches in NEWCAT+ (the Library catalogue);
- a series of interactive tiered Information Research Skills tutorials on finding, evaluating, and referencing information;
and more .....

Support for Law subjects

The Law Subject Resource guides will provide links to resources relevant to your subject.  Watch the video below to learn more:

 

 

You can also check out our PDF guides below:

 

Quick links to specific Law subject guides are provided below:

Support for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students

 

Check out the tailored guides for Indigenous students and Enabling Pathways (Yapug)

There is also a specialist page for course-level support for Yapug students

Support for Open Foundation, Newstep and Yapug students

 

Check out the tailored guide for Enabling Pathways students

There are also specialist pages for course-level support

Support for International students

 

Check out the tailored guide for International students

There is also a specialist page for English language resources

Electronic Course Readings for Students

Your Course Readings list is available in UONline (Blackboard) via a link in the left-hand navigation menu of your course. 

From here you can view, download or print readings. 

For more information see the Course Readings information for students page.


Electronic Course Readings for Staff

Course Readings is a web-based system that integrates seamlessly with UONline (Blackboard) allowing the creation and maintenance of lists for academics.

As staff you can add and edit readings as needed, organise readings in to groups in a way that suits your course. You can track the number of times a reading has been viewed by your students. All lists can be saved, updated and rolled over for use in future academic teaching sessions.  Using this system reduces the potential for copyright breaches.

For more information visit our Course Readings for staff or our suite of user guides and videos.

Need some help?

Ask the Library

 

Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information 

Book an online librarian support session (video chat) via Library Live

You can also use our Library Chat service below (when available)