Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

Research Help for International Students: Articles - topic search

Guide to assist international students find information for assignments.

Finding articles on a particular topic

Looking for articles on a particular topic? Watch the video below.

Type keywords into the Library Catalogue NewCat+ to find a selection of articles on a topic.

What about databases?

Library databases are online systems that organise scholarly research, including journal articles. Some databases cover many different subject areas, while others have a smaller focus. Not all databases provide the full-text of articles.

Our Subject Resource Guides will help you choose the right database.

Every journal database includes search hints and tips in the help menu - start there if you're not familiar with how to search the databases.

Want more information on Library databases? Watch this video produced by RMIT University:
What's a library database?


Need more help finding journal articles?

Have a look at our Finding journal articles using NewCat+ guide.

Some guides to help you search databases are available on the right of the screen.

Database guides

EBSCO Megafile Ultimate
Social sciences, business, health, education, sciences & humanities.

ProQuest
Nursing & allied health, education, & social Sciences.

ScienceDirect
Life, medical, technical, social & physical sciences.