Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As well as finding articles in your Library Search you can also search the following top databases.
Informit Health Collection
Australasian health information covering Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health; Incidence & prevention of disease; mental illness; nursing; pediatrics & geriatrics; personal health & safety; substance abuse, rural & remote health.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Informs practice and policy in Indigenous health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible to 'close the gap' in health between Indigenous and other Australians.
The MeSH heading for Australian Aborigines is 'Oceanic Ancestry Group'. This heading will work for some searching, but it will also identify people groups other than Aboriginal Australians. Alternatively, do a keyword search for 'indigenous australian*' , 'aboriginal australian*', or 'torres strait*'.
Produced by the Lowitja Institute, provides access to Aborginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database via 27 search topics.
Want to know more about searching health databases? See our Quick Guide.
Other useful databases
Use the EMTREE headings 'australian aborgine' and 'torres strait islander', as well as keyword searches for 'indigenous australian*' , 'australian aborigin*', or 'torres strait*'.
Broad content coverage for nursing, midwifery and allied health specialties, speech and language pathology, general health and medicine.
Nursing and allied health database (ProQuest)
Nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more.
Key database tutorials
Click database tutorials for tips on finding articles
Need some help?
Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information
Use our Library Chat service below (when available)
Contact the Senior Research Librarian
Senior Research Librarians provide specialist support for HDR students and researchers
Senior Research Librarian (Health and Medicine, Psychology)
Room L307, Auchmuty Library
T: 02 492 15844