University of Newcastle Library guides

Hospital archives:  Wallsend District Hospital

This collection includes the records of the Royal Newcastle Hospital (1866+), Wallsend District Hospital and Newcastle Western Suburbs Hospital (1890+).

Archives : Hospitals

Wallsend District Hospital, formerly Wallsend Mining District Hospital

Wallsend District Hospital

Annual Reports:

A7219(i) - Annual Reports and Balance Sheet : 1915, 1926, 1928, 1936 - 1973.

B12422 - Annual Reports, 1934 - 1949.

B12423 - Annual Reports, 1950 - 1965.

B12424 - Annual Reports, 1966 - 1975.

B12425 - Annual Reports, 1976 - 1982.

B12426 - Annual Reports, 1983 - 1986.

Board and Committee Records:

B12427 - Minutes of Board, Committees and Subcommittees and Annual Meetings, 1934 - 1939.

B12428 - Minutes of Board, Committees and Subcommittees and Annual Meetings, 1940 - 1946.

B12429 - Minutes of Board, Committees and Subcommittees and Annual Meetings, 1947 - 1955.

B12430 - Minutes of Board, Committees and Subcommittees and Annual Meetings, 1956 - 1963.

B12431 - Minutes of Board, Committees and Subcommittees and Annual Meetings, 1964 - 1970.

Statutes and Rules:

A7207(vii) - Wallsend Mining District Hospital Rules and Regulations, 1924.

A7207(viii) - Wallsend Mining District Hospital By-Laws, Standing Orders and Regulations, 1929.

A7207(ix) - Model By-Laws and Model Rules for Hospitals, c.1930s.

A7207(x) - Nurses' Registration Act, 1924 : Act: Regulations and Syllabus of Study, 1927.

A7207(xi) - Model By-Laws and Rules for Public Hospitals, c.1969.

A7207(xii) - Public Hospitals Act, 1929, No.8 (reprinted 1978).

Medical Executive Records:

B12408 - Medical Executive, correspondence, 1964 - 1979.

Correspondence and related records:

A7209(i) - The Pettinger Wing, The Long Battle (correspondence), 1960 - 1977.

A7209(ii) - The Pettinger Wing, Opening etc., 1978.

Nursing Records:

B12420 - Nursing Trainees' Register, 1931 - 1948.

B12421 - Nursing Trainees' Register, 1948 - 1958.

B12413 - Nurses Training Register, 1958 - 1966.

B12414 - Nursing Procedures and Instruction Manual, Newcastle and Hunter Valley Region, c.1970s.

B12415 - Home Nursing and Ailments of Children, A Handbook for Mothers by W. Howard James, 1912.

B12416 - Nurses Training School Roll Book, 1941 - 1961.

B12417 - Nurses Lecture Roll Book, 1961 - 1969.

B12418 - Nurses Lecture Roll Book, 1969 - 1975.

A7212(iv) - Programmes of Nurses' Graduation Ceremony, 1965, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1977, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1985.

A7212(v) - Nurses' Association, correspondence, 1978 - 1986.

A7212(vi) - Nash's Folly, The Official Newspaper of the Wallsend District Hospital, Vol. 1, May, 1987 - August, 1988.

Staff Records:

A7206(ii) - Wallsend District Hospital Staff Handbook (2 copies), c.1980s.

A7206(iii) - Wallsend Hospital, Xmas Concert Souvenir Programme, 1950.

Community Health Records:

A7207(iv) - Here's Health Wallsend! - some of the findings of the Wallsend Community and Health Project (2 copies), 1988.

A7207(v) - A Community Health Programme for the Hunter Region, Volumes 1 and 2, Robin Stevenson and Margaret Hutchinson, October, 1983.

A7207(vi) - Newcastle West Community Geriatric Assessment Service, documentation, 1984 - 1985.

Disaster Planning Records:

A7212(ii) - New South Wales Disaster Medical Plan, Department of Health NSW, March, 1985.

A7212(iii) - NSW Ambulance Service, Hunter Region Major Incident, Disaster Plan, Department of Health NSW, March, 1985.

Newspaper Clippings:

A7217(ii) - Newspaper clippings concerning Wallsend Hospital (bound), 1976 - 1985.

Plans:

M4409 - Architect's perspective drawing of Wallsend Mining District Hospital, c1940s.

M4415 - Ground plan of Wallsend District Mining Hospital, 3rd August, 1892.

M4416 - Ground plan of renovations to old Nurses' Home, Wallsend District Hospital, 11th August, 1965.

M4417 - Ground plan of Nurses' Home extensions, Wallsend District Hospital, August, 1963.

M4418 - Sundry ground plans of renovations, extensions and new buildings of the Hospital, [undated].

Photographs and hospital heritage material:

M4379-M4401 - Photographs of Wallsend District Hospital, showing various locations, staff and patients, 1970s.

M4402 - Photograph of members of the Wallsend Hospital Committee, 1931.

M4403 - Panoramic photograph of Hospital complex, early 1930s.

M4404 - Aerial photograph of Hospital complex and surrounds, 1940s.

M4405 - Aerial photograph of Hospital complex and surrounds, 1960s.

M4406 - Photograph of the President and Members of the Board of the Wallsend Mining District Hospital, c1920s.

M4407 - Photograph of unidentified bearded man, c1910.

M4408 - Photograph of Edward Charlton, J.P., President 1908 - 1923, c1920s.

M4410 - Panoramic photograph of Wallsend Mining District Hospital 1913 - 1938, 1938.

M4411 - Photograph of the original Wallsend Mining District Hospital 1892 - 1912, c1940s - 1950s.

M4412 - Photograph.

M4413 - Cartoon signed by Hospital staff, depicting Mussolini, Hitler and Goering under guard by an Australian soldier, early 1940s.

M4414 - Photograph of Testimonial presented to Isabella Dorothy Charlton by the Hospital Committee of Management, 23rd January, 1907.

M4419 - Photograph of Prince Henry, Duke of Gloucester, leaving Wallsend District Hospital, November, 1934 (?).

B12436 - Photograph Album.

A7220(i) - Photographs.

A7220(ii) - Wallsend District Hospital History file.

A7220(iii) - Award of Merit to Wallsend Branch of United Hospital Auxiliaries of NSW, 1972.

A7220(iv) - In the Beginning This Was the Wallsend Mining District Hospital [brochure detailing Hospital's history to encourage donations for a new Wing]. (2 copies, early 1970s).

A7220(v) - Hospitals' Association of NSW Certificate of Service awarded to Alexander William Elliott.

A7220(vi) - Tin containing medallions and badges.

A7220(vii) - Wallsend District Hospital, Long Service Badge (2 badges).

A7220(viii) - Trowel used by K.G. Booth, M.L.A., for completion of Pettinger Complex of Wallsend District Hospital, 1977.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Please make an appointment to visit us.

Our services
Access to materials
- Make an appointment
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354