University of Newcastle Library guides

Hospital archives:  Royal Newcastle Hospital

This collection includes the records of the Royal Newcastle Hospital (1866+), Wallsend District Hospital and Newcastle Western Suburbs Hospital (1890+).

Archives : Hospitals

Royal Newcastle Hospital

Royal Newcastle Hospital

B10734-93a - Hospital Board and Committees minutes, 1866 -1959

A6058 - Hospital Board minutes, 1972 - 1981 (Restricted access)

B10830a-36 - Annual reports, 1887 - 1982

B10793b - Annual General Meetings minutes and reports, 1934 - 1963

B11887 - Committee of Management minute book, 1899 - 1905

B10793c - Building Sub-Committee minutes, 1946 - 1958

B10794 - Agenda Book, 1932 - 1936

B10795-802 - Letter books (out), 1869 - 1911

B10803-12 - Patient registers, 1875 - 1916, 1944 - 1951

B10813-30 - Operations registers, 1892 - 1949

B13647 - Press clipping books, 1934 - 1965

A6523(v) - Medical officers rosters, 1937, 1938

B11888 - Cash book, 1939 - 1940

B11889-91 - Salaries books, 1919 - 1928

B11892-93 - Matrons' salaries books, 1919 - 1930

B11894-95 - Nursing salaries books, 1930 - 1940

B11896-99 - Wages book, 1918 - 1940

A6334 - List of Matrons and Directors of Nursing of the Royal Newcastle Hospital, 1871 - 1972

By-laws of the Newcastle Hospital with a scheme for training nurses… 1898

Rules, regulations, and by-laws 1907, 1916, 1920, 1931

A report on hospital administration, by K.W. Starr, 1937

Copy of "An ether anaesthesia at Stroud 1847…", by O.F. James and P. Vidler, from Anaesthesia and intensive care, August, 1979

Journal article "Newcastle pioneer in X-Rays" by Morris Owen. Reprinted from The Journal of the College of Radiologists in Australia, [1965?]

Copy of a letter and University News article on the transfer of the Royal Newcastle Hospital records to the University of Newcastle, September 1984

A7064 - Newcastle Hospital by the Beach : Some Photographic Memories, edited by Noel Carter, 1990

B13643-64b - Newcastle Hospital Register 1817 - 1915, by B.W. Champion, privately published 1950

A6054-58 - See also: Royal Newcastle Hospital and Newcastle Medical School files, 1957 - 1981

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Please make an appointment to visit us.

Our services
Access to materials
- Make an appointment
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354