Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

History: Huxley Indigenous Collection

A Library Guide to History resources for students and staff of the University of Newcastle

Physical collections at the Huxley Library

Huxley Indigenous Collection

The Huxley Indigenous Collection is located in the CRMC Area at Huxley Library in the Hunter Building.  Just ask the Library staff for directions or see the location map linked on the right.

The collection holds over 1,600 specialised resources to support students of Aboriginal Studies and similar courses at the University of Newcastle.

All books, DVDs and kits in the Huxley Indigenous Collection are identified with an Aboriginal flag sticker.

The Wollotuka Institute and the Library collaborate in managing the Huxley Indigenous Collection.

Huxley Koori Collection

The Huxley Koori Collection is located in the CRMC area in the Huxley Library, Hunter Building.

This Collection is a mix of stories from the Dreaming and contemporary children’s Indigenous literature. It includes both fiction and non-fiction titles, written by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander authors and others.

Reading levels range from young children to young adults. The call number for these titles is 808.8989915.

 

Resources at our other libraries

In addition to the dedicated Huxley Indigenous Collection, resources for topics relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples can be found in the Auchmuty Library (Callaghan Campus) and the Ourimbah Library.

A key area within these libraries is the shelf location of 305.89915. Other areas of interest can be found in our call numbers guide linked below.

For more information on how call numbers work access our guide.

 

Call numbers for topics relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

Huxley Indigenous Collection

Click to view a location map of Huxley Library
Huxley Indigenous Collection

Need some help?

Ask the Library

Click  Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information


Use our Library Chat service below (when available)