Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

Library Services for High School Students: Finding assignment resources

Guide for library resources available to high school students

COVID-19 Notice:

Please be advised that some Library services and access to resources have been modified in response to the current COVID-19 situation.  Library buildings are open to university students, staff and our current Community Borrowers membership holders.  At this time, no general community members or non-university students can access our libraries.  As a result, the Open Door Program and library tours have been temporarily suspended.  

Contact us through our Library chat service, or via email or text.

Finding assignment resources

Finding assessment resources

Introduction

The University Library maintains a large collection of physical items, including over 1.3 million books and over 10,000 journal titles.

So you might ask the question "how do I go about finding stuff?".  The answer is simple, you search our extensive online Library Catalogue (NEWCAT+).  Simply visit newcastle.edu.au/library

We provide access to computers specifically for searching the Library catalogue so you can have access to a range of print and electronic information resources while you are on campus.

 

 

Finding books at the University of Newcastle

Looking for books on a particular topic? Watch the video below.

Type keywords into the Library Catalogue NewCat+ to find a selection of books on a topic.

Tips for books

  • Use quotation marks around the topic to make your search more specific. Example: "Clinical reasoning".
  • The Library catalogue record for the book will include details of editions that are available - look for the latest.
  • For books which are available electronically there will be a link to the ebook provider.  Note that ebooks are only accessible from our dedicated NEWCAT+ terminals on-campus.  We are unable to provide off-campus access.
  • Need to find the book in the Library?

Download our help guide

Finding newspaper and journal articles

Looking for articles on a particular topic? Watch the video below.

Type keywords into the Library Catalogue NewCat+ to find a selection of articles on a topic.

Tips for articles

  • Use quotation marks around the topic to make your search more specific. Example: "fall prevention".
  • The Library catalogue includes both newspaper articles and articles from journals - choose Peer Reviewed to limit to top quality research articles.
  • Note that online journal articles are only accessible from our dedicated NEWCAT+ terminals on-campus.  We are unable to provide off-campus access.

Download our help guide

Using public and other libraries

Public Libraries

Your local public library can be a good way to access journal databases from home.  Contact your local public library to see what access they offer - you may need to become a member to receive access.

State Library of New South Wales

The State Library has an extensive collection of electronic resources for NSW residents.  You can register online.

National Library of Australia

The National Library allows students to apply online to receive a library card.  Access to eresources is restricted to registered users.

See the Database Guide below for more information and contact details:

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organisations.

Try out* Google Scholar using the search box below:

Google Scholar Search

*Note that many resources harvested through Google Scholar require you to pay for access.  When you have found something like this on Google Scholar, try searching our Library catalogue from one of the dedicated terminals on campus.  See the Finding Full-text Guide below for directions.

Useful guides

Hyperjinks High

Hyperjinks High

Hyperjinks High is a learning tool created by UON Library to help students develop information literacy skills that will assist them throughout their school years and beyond.

Hyperjinks High

InfoSkills

InfoSkills

InfoSkills is a self-paced online tutorial that covers 6 modules including planning for research, finding information, evaluating information, writing and plagiarism, and using information ethically.

Select Site Map located at the right hand corner of the screen to jump to a particular section of the tutorial.

Enabling Pathways Library Guide

Enabling Pathways Library Guide

This guide is designed to help students locate academic sources for assignments, including 'unpacking' the assignment question, locating and using quality resources, and referencing.

Enabling Pathways Library Guide

Guide Index

About UON Library

See information about our campuses and more

Open Door Program

UON's high school student borrowing program

Borrowing rights

Finding resources

Use the collections at UON and other libraries

Hyperjinks High

UON's online library and research skills tutorial

Library visits and tours

Request a visit to a UON Library

Contact us

Get in touch with a support librarian