Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

Education: Indigenous Collection

A Library Guide to Education resources for students and staff of the University of Newcastle

Notice

With the closure of the Huxley Library in mid-December 2020, the Indigenous and Koori Collections will be moving to the Auchmuty Library.  During the transition, items from these collections may not be accessible in-person.  Please place a hold on items from these collections and Library staff will collect them for you.

Special collections at the Auchmuty Library

Indigenous Collection

The Indigenous Collection is located on Level 3 in the Auchmuty Library on the Callaghan Campus.  Just ask our friendly Library staff for directions.

The collection holds over 1,600 specialised resources to support students of Aboriginal Studies and similar courses at the University of Newcastle.

All books, DVDs and kits in the Indigenous Collection are identified with an Aboriginal flag sticker.

The Wollotuka Institute and the Library collaborate in managing the Indigenous Collection.

Koori Collection

The Koori Collection is located on Level 3 of the Auchmuty Library at the Callaghan Campus.

This Collection is a mix of stories from the Dreaming and contemporary children’s Indigenous literature. It includes both fiction and non-fiction titles, written by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander authors and others.

Reading levels range from young children to young adults. The call number for these titles is 808.8989915.

 

Other collections

In addition to the dedicated Indigenous Collection, resources for topics relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples can be found elsewhere in the Auchmuty Library and at the Ourimbah Library (Central Coast Campus).

A key area within these libraries is the shelf location of 305.89915. Other areas of interest can be found in our call numbers guide linked below.

 

Call numbers for topics relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples

Need some help?

Ask the Library

Click  Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information


Use our Library Chat service below (when available)