Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

eBooks: What's an eBook?

An independent scholarly press publishing books

What's an eBook?

The library has access to extensive eBook collections providing anywhere access to texts and scholarly resources.

An eBook, also known as an electronic book or digital book, is a book that

  • exists in electronic form
  • is available online in a full text format
  • can be published in a range of file formats such as epub, pdf, mobi or azw.

UON Library eBooks are designed for research and can be read on

  • desktop computers
  • laptop computers
  • smart phone/tablet devices.

Printing, copying and downloading features vary between eBook publishers.

  • This usually requires your computer or device to have special software installed.

    Please note:

The option to download allows you to receive the content from eBooks but

it does not allow you to save the book.

eBook Collections

Bentham eBooks

eBooks from all areas of Science, Technology and Medicine.

Berghahn ebooks

An independent scholarly press publishing books in the Social Sciences and Humanities. Access via IG Library

Books24x7 BusinessPro Collection

Includes corporate case studies, latest trends on leadership, marketing strategies, supply chain, business modeling and project management.
5 concurrent users
Please LOGOUT at the end of your session

Books@Ovid

Access to a range of titles associated with Health, Nursing and Midwifery.

Cambridge Companions Online

Collections of specially commissioned essays introducing major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. Covers Literature, the Classics, Philosophy, Music, Religion and Culture.

DOAB: directory of open access books

Open access to almost 2500 academic peer-reviewed books that are available under an Open Access license (such as a Creative Commons license).

eBook collection (EBSCOHost)

Subject areas include architecture, business, education, engineering, health, history, philosophy, religion, sciences, and social sciences.

Ebrary academic collection (Proquest)

Subject areas include business and economics, computers and IT, education, engineering, history, language, literature, politics, medicine, nursing, and sciences.

Kogan Page ebook collection

Collection of business & management, health, social sciences and humanities ebooks.

ProQuest Ebook Central

Multidisciplinary ebook platform/database covering a wide range of subjects including education, health, business, management, politics, history, literature, and information technology.

Springer eBook collection

Covers Behavioral Science, Business and Economics, Professional and Applied Computing, Physics and Astronomy, Medicine, Mathematics and Statistics, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Engineering, Earth and Environmental Science, Computer Science, Chemistry and Materials Science and Biomedical and Life Sciences, published between 2005-2011.
Users need to untick 'Include Preview-Only content' for full text content - content with closed padlocks is not available to UON.

Springer Publishing Company eBooks

Medical subject areas of nursing, psychology, gerontology, social work, counseling, public health, and rehabilitation.

Taylor and Francis eBooks

Collection of ebooks in Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, STM and Law.

Need some help?

Access librarian support via Book a Librarian or Library Live

Click Ask the library below  to access Library Help and Information 

Use our Library Chat service below (when available)