University of Newcastle Library Guides
It is always a good idea to have more than one browser on your computer, because different resources work differently in different browsers, and login errors can get saved in your cache even if they are just temporary. Many login errors are resolved by trying a different browser. If you cannot use a different browser, try clearing your cache and search history. Please also keep in mind that Internet Explorer or Edge can cause problems with some our resources.
Some full text journals are freely available to anyone on the Internet, either for a limited time or permanently.
This error message indicates the page was not found on the vendors site. It could mean the platform’s server is down. We suggest waiting 30 minutes and then try to access once again.
When EBSCOhost ebooks remain idle for 30 minutes, the ebook system will then go through the return process, which may take up to 15 minutes. To avoid this problem, download the book to your computer or portable device for uninterrupted reading.
Some of our database licenses are restricted to a limited number of simultaneous, or concurrent, users. When this is the case, we try to notify users by including a note like "limited to 10 concurrent users" on the A-Z database page and also within the records. Not being able to access can also be due to current issues affecting the database or availability dates of the resource.
User Licenses
Check user license limits by going to the A-Z database list. Databases that have access restrictions, or limitations will have the information bolded beneath the database description. For example,
Australian Medicines Handbook
Ebook version of the annual AMH, includes drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information.
4 Concurrent users
Please LOGOUT at the end of your session
AMH has decided to remove support for IE version 8 as of 17th July 2017 which means there will be some loss of functionality in our websites. Please note that in January 2018, the content of AMH Online and Companion websites will no longer be viewable in IE versions 7 and 8.
Current issues affecting databases
Check the A-Z database list for current issues or conditions affecting a database. These will be listed beneath the database description and be highlighted in orange. For example,
InCites Benchmarking & Analytics
Benchmarks research output and impact; identify collaborators and subject matter experts; promotes areas of strength and specialisations; demonstrate results and impact.
Access to Benchmarking & Analytics requires Users to create an account with a University Email Address and Password.
SpringerLink journals
Springer/Verlag and Birkhauser publications in a variety of subject areas including: biology/biomedicine, chemistry, geosciences, computer sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, and the social sciences.
Users need to untick 'Include Preview-Only content' for full text content - content with closed padlocks is not available to UON.
Special usage instructions
ASTM International standards online
This resource provides access to the current collection of ASTM Standards using IHS Standards Expert. These standards begin with the acronym 'ASTM'. IHS Standards Expert also provides access to an index of over 1.6 million standards, specifications, codes, regulations and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.
Users need to create an individual log-in to access the search screen, then limit the search to 'My Subscriptions', otherwise results will include standards and codes which are not part of our available access
Availability dates
Journal issues availability - check what years we have access to. For example
Note that some machines perform certain tasks better after they have been shut down and restarted.