Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

Curriculum Resource Collections: Huxley Readers

A guide to the Curriculum Resource Collections at the University of Newcastle Libraries

Huxley Readers

Big Mob Books For Little Fullas

__________________________

Carousel Readers

__________________________

Joy Cowley Collections

__________________________

Dark Flight Readers

__________________________

Flying Start to Literacy

__________________________

Foundations Take Two

__________________________

Journeys in Critical Literacy

__________________________

Mac Australia

__________________________

The PM Libraries

__________________________

PM Library

__________________________

PM Non Fiction

__________________________

PM Plus

__________________________

Reading Discovery

__________________________

Springboard


Sunshine Books

__________________________


 

Big Mob Books For Little Fullas: The Aboriginal Emergent Readers Kit - 372.412 BIGM

The kit is aimed at helping to increase the levels of literacy among students from Kindergarten to Year 6 and will benefit both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal children. It includes stories from Aboriginal communities, and the majority of the artwork is by Aboriginal adults and children throughout NSW.

Library Holdings


Carousel Books - 372.412 CARO

Ideally suited for Guided Reading and proven highly successful in Reading Recovery and similar early intervention programs.

Library Holdings


The Joy Cowley Collections - 372.412 COWL-2 and 372.412 COWL-2 2009

The New Joy Cowley Collection (held at 372.412 COWL-2) is a completely new set of early literacy stories about some of her most well-known and much-loved characters found in the Joy Cowley Collection. The CRMC holds a small selection of these titles covering reading levels 8 to level 19.

The Joy Cowley Collection (held at 372.412 COWL-2 2009) is a set of re-released titles of the author's well known and most popular characters. The CRMC holds a range of titles covering reading levels 1 to level 20.

Both sets are an excellent foundation for early readers aged 5-7. Teachers notes are included in the back of each book.

Library Holdings - 3712.412 COWL-2

Library Holdings - 372.412 COWL-2 2009


Dark Flight Readers - 372.412 DARK

Dark Flight readers are edgy and exciting adventure stories, designed to grab the attention of students aged 9–14 years with a reading age of 6.5+.

Library Holdings


Flying Start to Literacy - 372.412 FLYI

Flying Start to Literacy is a comprehensive core early literacy program.

Publisher Information

Library Holdings


Foundations Take Two - 372.412 FOUN to 372.412 FOUN-6

Take Two Books include a fiction and factual book on the same topic. 

Call number    

Foundation Level 

 Reading Level/Age  Catalogue
372.412 FOUN Early Lvs. 7-12 Holdings
372.412 FOUN-1  Fluent Lvs. 13-17 Holdings
372.412 FOUN-2  Set 1 Lvs.18-20 Holdings
372.412 FOUN-3 Set 2 Lvs. 20- 21 Holdings
372.412 FOUN-4 Set 3 Ages 8-9 years Holdings
372.412 FOUN-5 Set 4 Ages 9-10 years Holdings
372.412 FOUN-6 Set 5 Ages 10-11 years

Holdings


Journeys in Critical Literacy - 372.412 JOUR

Journeys in Critical Literacy helps students learn how to access and interpret all forms of texts, from stage plays to comic strips, and then analyse the texts for deeper meanings.The set is divided into 5 common themes: doors, home, laugh, playing and reflection.

Library Holdings


Mac Australia [KIT] - 372.412 MACA

Publisher information

Library Holdings for Mac Australia Topics reader series


The PM Libraries

The CRMC holds a selection of various levels, colours and reading age titles from the different PM Library collections.For information regarding the PM Libraries, click on the Publisher Information Link.

Publisher Information

PM Animal Facts - 372.412 PMAN and PM Anthology - 372.412 PMAT

PM Title Colour Reading Age            Catalogue 
PM Animals Facts - Pets      Orange   Age 6.5 Holdings 
PM Animal Facts - Wild Turquoise  Age 7 Holdings
PM Anthology Emerald/Ruby/Sapphire Ages 9,10,11 Holdings


PM Library - 372.412 PMLI

Level Colour Reading Age        Catalogue  
Level 25 Emerald Age 9 Holdings
Level 27 Ruby Age 10 Holdings
Level 29 Sapphire Age 11 Holdings

PM Non Fiction - 372.412 PMNO

Title Colour       Catalogue      
Time Green Holdings
Maths Red Holdings
Families    Yellow   Holdings
People Blue  Holdings

PM Plus - 372.412 PMPL Non Fiction

Level           Catalogue             
Level 1 Holdings
Level 2 Holdings
Level 5 + 6    Holdings
Level 8 + 9 Holdings
Level 11 + 12     Holdings
Level  14 + 15 Holdings
Level 16 + 17 Holdings
Level 18 + 19 Holdings

PM Story Books - 372.412 PMST

Colour                          Catalogue             
Blue Set A Holdings
Red Set A Holdings
Turquoise Set A Holdings
Turquoise Set B Holdings
Orange Set A   Holdings
Orange Set B Holdings
Purple Set A Holdings
Silver Holdings
Gold Set A Holdings
New PM Green Holdings
New PM Yellow Holdings

Reading Discovery - 372.412 READ-5

Library Holdings


Springboard - 372.412 SPRI

Publisher Information                        Library Holdings

Springboard components               Reading Level/Age              
Springboard Beginning Levels 1-8 (5-6 years)
Springboard 1 Levels 9-16 (6-7 years)
Springboard 2 Levels 17-23 (7-8 years)
Springboard 3 Levels 24-30 (8-9 years)
Springboard 4 8.8 - 10.2 years
Springboard 5 9.5 - 12.5 years
Springboard 6 10.5 - 13.5 years

Sunshine Books - 372.412 SUNS

Publisher Information                          Library Holdings

The Sunshine Literacy Program is a collection of carefully levelled texts with a gradual introduction of new vocabulary.