EndNote Online can be used to manage your references, share libraries collaboratively, and can be used with Microsoft Word to add in-text citations and bibliographies to your assignments.EndNoteOnline can be synced to an EndNote library on your desktop, or used completely online - whatever works for you. Create your free account. EndNote also has an app for iPad.
To get ready to use EndNote Online, you need to complete the following steps:
1. Ensure your computer meets the System Requirements
2. Create an Account
3. Download and Install the Installers (Firefox Extension,Capture Reference and Cite While You Write,)
4. Setup MS Word to use EndNote Web as a Preference to use theCWYW Plug-in
After you have completed the 4 steps above, you are ready to use EndNote Online to
Note: Information for Mac users is available in the Mac Users box below.
Browser Requirements (Cookies and JavaScript must be enabled in the Web browser settings)
- Internet Explorer 8.x or later
- Firefox 27 or later
- Chrome 31 or later
Windows Plug-in Requirements
- MS Windows XP SP3 or later
- MS Word: 2003 or later
- MS Internet Explorer 8.x or later with the latest service pack set as the default Web browser
- Firefox for Windows set as the default Web browser
For more details see the EndNote Online Help page
To create an EndNote Online account go to https://www.myendnoteweb.com
To retrieve a lost password
Click the Forgot Your Password link on the login page, and then follow the instructions there to reset your password. To change your password, email address, profile information etc, login to EndNote Online, then click the Options tab, and then choose the relevant tab from the menu.
The FireFox Extension Installer adds the EndNote toolbar in Firefox to enable you to save online references from web pages (eg Google Scholar) or databases (eg. EBSCO) into your EndNote Online library.
To install the EndNote Online extension for Firefox:
- After log in to EndNote Online
- Click the Download Installers link at the bottom of any page.
- Under Firefox Extension, click the Windows/Macintosh link.
Note: If Firefox prevents the download, Choose Allow this site http://myendnoteweb.com to install software to your computer.- Click the Install Now button when prompted to confirm software installation.
- Click the Restart Firefox button.
To uninstall th EndNote Online toolbar for Firefox:
- In Firefox, select the Tools menu, then Add-ons or Extensions.
- Select the EndNote Web extension.
- Click the Remove/Uninstall button.
The Capture Reference bookmarklet is available if you have downloaded the Web Capture installer.
To install the Capture tool, just drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar (also known as "Favorites Bar" or "Bookmarks Toolbar"). In some browsers, you may need to right-click and select "Add to Favorites" or "Bookmark This Link "
To use it, browse to a page you like and click the Capture Reference button in the Bookmarks bar. The Capture Reference window will open. Follow the instructions in the window.
If you want to use EndNote Online with Word or the Internet Explorer toolbar for Windows you need to download and install the Cite While You Write plug-in. If you use Firefox there is also a FireFox Extension add-on available.
Information for Mac users is available under the tab Mac Users on the top of the site.
The Cite While You Write Plug-in (CWYW) enables you to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word.
The Windows plug-in also allows you to save online references from databases to your EndNote Online library in Internet Explorer.
When off campus: To download and install the Cite While You Write plug-in to use with Word or the Internet Explorer toolbar for Windows:
If you need more assistance see the CWYW plugin EndNote Online help page
When on campus:The library's PCs already have the plug-ins installed. If not installed please see the librarian.
To verify the installation of Cite While You Write, open Word and look for the Cite While You Write toolbar.
To verify the installation of the Internet Explorer toolbar, open Internet Explorer and look for the EndNote Web toolbar. If it is not visible, select the View menu, Toolbars and check EndNote Web.
To uninstall the Cite While You Write Plug-in:
Go to Start > Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs or Programs and features > Uninstall a program.
The minimum requirements to use Endnote Online with your Mac are as follows:
Web Browser Requirements (Cookies and JavaScript must be enabled in the Web browser settings)
Macintosh CWYW Plug-in Requirements
Mac users need to download and install the Cite While You Write plug-in to use EndNote Online with Word. You may also download and install the FireFox Extension add-on to capture the references from the web instantly.
Installing the Cite While You Write Plug-in for Macintosh 
The Cite While You Write Plug-in(CWYW) enables you to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word.
To download and install the Cite While You Write plug-in to use with Word:
For more information on installing the CWYW plugin for Macintosh see the EndNote Online Help page
To uninstall the EndNote Cite While You Write Plug-in
Installing the FireFox Extension Add-on
The FireFox Extension Installer adds the EndNote tool bars in Firefox to enable you to save online references from web pages (eg Google Scholar) or databases (eg EBSCO) into your EndNote Online library. It also adds the links to the EndNote Online site and help page.
To install the EndNote Web extension for FireFox:
- Login to EndNote Online.
- Click the Download Installers link at the bottom of any page.
- Under Firefox Extension, click the Windows/Macintosh link.
Note: If Firefox prevents the download, Choose Allow this site http://myendnoteweb.com to install software to your computer.- Click the Install Now button when prompted to confirm software installation.
- Click the Restart Firefox button.
To uninstall the EndNote Web toolbar for Firefox:
- In Firefox, select the Tools menu, then Add-ons or Extensions.
- Select the EndNote Web extension.
- Click the Remove/Uninstall button.
Once you have created an EndNote Online account you can build up your personal EndNote Library by collecting references.
To do so, click the Collect tab, then use any of the following 3 options to add references to your EndNote library.
Important: You should always check the quality of the references and edit them when you add references using the methods described above. It is very important to keep all the data in your EndNote library correct and accurate at all times. Otherwise any mistakes in your EndNote library will be transferred to your paper whenever you use these references.
Important: You need to check the quality of references you have added from the catalogue and edit them as necessary.
For more details see the EndNote Online help page
Important: You need to check the quality of references you have added and edit them as necessary.
It is very important to ensure all data in your EndNote Online library is accurate as any mistakes in your EndNote library will be reflected in your paper whenever you use these references. If you see an error you can edit the reference. This includes both manually added references and those imported from a database or library catalogue.
To edit a reference:
Click on the title to open the reference.
Click each of the fields to edit as needed.
Click theSave button on the Top or Bottom of the record to save the changes made to that record.
Importing references from a database is slightly more involved than the Direct Export process. It involves the following 2 steps:
Step 1: Search the database and save the results as a Text file. You will need to:
Step 2: Import the search results into EndNote Library:
For more information see the EndNote Online Help page
Important: You need to check the quality of references you have added from the databases and edit them as necessary.
Some databases allow direct export from the database to EndNote Online.
The EndNote website provides a list of database that allow direct export
Databases not listed will require you to import the references into your library (See the Importing References Tab).
Important:You need to check the quality of references you have added from the databases and edit them as necessary.
You can organise your references by creating groups, share your groups with others, and find duplicates.
Click the links below for details:
You can create a new group by going to the Organize tab, then click on Manage My Groups and select the New Group button.
Alternatively, you can create a New Group from the My References page. First select the references you want to put into a new group, then click on the Add to group ...drop down menu, and then click New Group.
You can share a group of references with others with read only or read and write access.
If others share their groups with you, you can view them by clicking Others' Groups.
Deleting a group will not delete the references held in this group. When you delete a group these references are moved to Unfiled.
Deleted items may be recovered in the Trash section, if not yet emptied.
EndNote Online provides the following functions to enable you to create a formatted bibliography for your paper or cite references while you write. EndNote Online also enables you to export your references to other programs such as EndNote Desktop, Reference Manager etc.
Within EndNote Online you can format your references in a specified reference style and e-mail, save or print the formatted bibliography as you wish.
To create a bibliography:
To use EndNote Online with Microsoft Word you will need to install the CWYW Plug-in. Once this is installed you can easily find and insert a citation from your EndNote Online library into your paper while you are writing.
The citation appears at the cursor location, formatted according to the bibliographic style specified. The reference information is also automatically added to the bibliography at the end of your paper.
You must use the Edit Citation(s) tool to edit the citation after it has been inserted. This may include to delete a citation, add or change page numbers, prefix and suffix, exclude author or date etc.
Note:You must use this option to delete citations. This will ensure that both the in-text citation and the reference in the bibliography list as well as all related EndNote field codes are removed.
EndNote Online provides an export feature allowing you to export your references in one of several standard export styles to e-mail, save or print for alternative use, eg you may open them in EndNote desktop, or Reference Manager etc.
To export the references:
Please note that it is not possible to manually edit or add new Output Styles in EndNote Online.
If users wish to add a style or change/edit an existing style there are two options:
EndNote Sync allows you to access your references from anywhere and manage your EndNote library on multiple computers.
EndNote Sync allows you to synchronize the references in your EndNote library with the references in your EndNote Online library.(EndNote is the desktop version of EndNote and EndNote Online is the Web version of EndNote desktop.)
In order to use this capability, you must have an EndNote Online account.
If you already have an EndNote Online account and know your log-in information, you are ready to get started!
Syncing automatically affects both sets of references that live in the respective Groups so that identical groups and references wil lbe there when EndNote Sync completes the proces.This includes all data changes -including file attachments -therefore each library will match the other. If references and/or PDFs are added or removed in EndNote, those changes are consequently updated in EndNote Online and EndNote.
Set up your Sync Preferences
Go to the Edit menu, select Preferences,then click Sync in the list of preferences.
Sync Preferences allows you to:
The following links will provide more information on Endnote Online not covered in our Libguide.
EndNote Online Help Table of Contents
For further information you can search the Thomson Reuters KnowledgeBase
located on the EndNote Online Support Pages
