University of Newcastle Library guides

Alexander Burnard (1900-1971) - Papers:  Writings

The papers of Alexander Burnard, Australian composer, including correspondence from Percy and Ella Grainger.

Archives : Alexander Burnard

The Papers and Correspondence of Alex Burnard, Australian Composer, 1900-1971

Writings

The collection contains the original typescript of Dr Burnard's text book on Harmony and Composition, dating from the 1930s, as well as copies of the two published editions of the work, in 1950 and 1965. Included are essays and lectures upon musical topics which he delivered in class or through public broadcasts on the ABC (1934 - 1943). Dr Burnard was a lover of literature and wrote many prose and poetical works thoughout his life, some of which he sought to have published under the title Selected Verse, Gay and Grave 1942 – 1968, but to no avail (1917 - 1970).

A8277(ix) Dr Alex Burnard’s record of evidence before Parliamentary Committee on Broadcasting. [c.1939]
A8278(i) Typescript of:Harmony and Composition for the Student and the Potential Composer by Alex Burnard. [c. 1930s]
A8278(ii) Signed and annotated copy of: Harmony and Composition for the Student and the Potential Composer by Alex Burnard. 1st Cloth Edition Sydney: Angus & Robertson, 1950.
A8278(iii) Copy of:Harmony and Composition for the Student and the Potential Composer by Alex Burnard. Melbourne: Allans Music (Australia) Pty Ltd, 1965
A8278(iv) Manuscript notes for two talks and ABC broadcasts entitled “The Scope of Music” and “Taste in Music” by Alex Burnard. July 1934 – Sept. 1943
A8280(i) Copy of: Selected Verse, Gay and Grave 1942 – 1968 by Alex Burnard with cover letter dated 25th November 1969.
A8280(ii) A selection of poems by Alex Burnard, April 1944 – July 1965 [Typescript] sent to Professor A.D. Hope Department of English ANU, with cover letter dated 26th Sept. 1967.
A8280(iii) Poems by Alex Burnard [Typescript]. April 1944 – Sept. 1967
A8280(iv) A collection of poems in typescript by Alex Burnard with notes. July 1942 – July 1969
A8280(v) Poems by Alex Burnard [Handwritten and typescript versions]. 1917 – July 1971
A8280(vi) Poems and notes by Alex Burnard [Handwritten and typescript]. 1917 – Oct. 1963
A8280(vii) Various articles, poems, essays and writings by Alex Burnard.1937 – 1965
A8281(iii) Various writings, newsclipping, notes and papers relating to class talks, poems, music and literature, J.S. Bach’s 2 part and 3 part inventions, resignation letter draft and retirement. 1935 – [1970]

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Please make an appointment to visit us.

Our services
Access to materials
- Make an appointment
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354