University of Newcastle Library guides

Alexander Burnard (1900-1971) - Papers:  Sound recordings

The papers of Alexander Burnard, Australian composer, including correspondence from Percy and Ella Grainger.

Archives : Alexander Burnard

The Papers and Correspondence of Alex Burnard, Australian Composer, 1900-1971

Sound recordings

The collection includes rare sound recordings made by the Australian Broadcasting Commission between the years 1951 and 1956 of Burnard's musical compositions. These are, perhaps, the only sound recordings of his compositions in existence and include his Op.33 Song Cycle for Baritone (1952), Op.30 'The Answer' - Song for Soprano (1951), Op.31 No.1 Prelude Fanfare and Fugue (1949-1951) and Op.4 Variations on 'A Watchet Sailor' for piano (Dec 1926 - 22nd February 1927).Also in the collection is a spoken word interview conducted in 1946.

A8284(xix) Recording: Dr Alex Burnard: Interview with Radio Reporter Ballarat Oct. 11th 1946
A8284(xx) Recording: Side 1 A. “Take, Oh Take Those Lips Away” by Hubert Parry B. “Walking the Woods” by Peter Warlock Side 2.A. “When the Lad for Longing Sighs” by George Butterworth B. “On the Idle Hill of Summer” by George Butterworth. Voice: Phyllis Burnard Piano: Dr Alex Burnard T.H.S. High Fidelity Direct Full Tone Record 78 R.P.M. Recorded by T.H. Sherman 16 Hunter St. Sydney. 3 copies (a-c)
A8284(xxi) Recording:Outside Australian Compositions: “Watchet Sailor” and “Variations for Pianoforte”[2].Composed by Alex Burnard. Piano: Jessica Dix Recorded at Adelaide on the 15th June 1951 by the Australian Broadcasting Commission. 6 parts on three 78 R.P.M. discs (a-c)
A8284(xxii) Recording: Australian Compositions: Side 1. “Sonata for Violin and Piano” by Margaret Sutherland Violin: Sybil Sutherland Piano: Margaret Sutherland Recorded Melbourne 19th December 1955 Time: 23’00’’ Speed: 33 1/3 RPM Side 2. A. “Two Poems” by Roy Agnew B. “Holiday Suite” by Roy Agnew C. “Pegasus” by Horace Keats D. “Prelude, Fanfare and Fugue” by Alex Burnard. Piano: Gordon Watson Recorded Sydney 1955-1956 Speed: 33 1/3 RPM
A8284(xxiii) Recording: Australian Composition: “Song Cycle for Baritone” Composed by Dr Alex Burnard. Words by John Wheeler Baritone: Harold Williams Piano: Joyce Hutchinson Side 1. “The River” Side 2. “Night Piece” Side 3. “Berceuse” Side 4. “There’s Snow on the Mountains” Side 5. “Magnolia” Side 6. “Carol” Three 78 RPM discs (a-c)
A8284(xxiv) Recording: Australian Composition Side 1. “Spring Mirth” (1’34’’) Composed by Jack Villaume Words by Samuel Coleridge. Soprano: Nita Maughan Accomp: Maynard Wilkinson Recorded Sydney 17th May 1954 Speed: 78 RPM Side 2.“The Answer” (3’00’) Composed by Dr Alex Burnard Words by Maeterlinck (English Version: John Wheeler) Soprano: Nita Maughan Accomp: Maynard Wilkinson Recorded Sydney 17th May 1954 Speed: 78 RPM

[1] The full title appears within 'The Halle Music Book' , A8283(xv) which contains miscellaneous compositions p 7.

[2] Could this be a misprint? Op.4 Variations on "A Watchet Sailor" for piano. Dec 1926 - 22nd February 1927

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Please make an appointment to visit us.

Our services
Access to materials
- Make an appointment
Archives collections
Other collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354