University of Newcastle Library guides

Alexander Burnard (1900-1971) - Papers:  Education-related papers

The papers of Alexander Burnard, Australian composer, including correspondence from Percy and Ella Grainger.

Archives : Alexander Burnard

The Papers and Correspondence of Alex Burnard, Australian Composer, 1900-1971

Education related papers

The collection includes student record books and more voluminous manuscript scores of exercises that he worked on during his undergraduate and doctorate University periods. They show that he continued these exercises throughout his life, probably within his lecturing career as Senior Lecturer in Harmony and Counterpoint, at the State Conservatorium in Sydney between the years 1935 -1967.
The collection also includes working papers for musical exams, as he was an examiner and set theoretical musical examinations for the Conservatorium, State and A.M.E.B.

A8278(v) University of Adelaide Elder Conservatorium of Music Student’s Sessional Record for D.A. Burnard. 1920 – 1924, 1926.
A8279(i) Manuscript books of musical exercises. March 1924 – [c.1968]
A8281(iv)

Working papers and manuscripts relating to music examinations and assignments.1961 – 1966

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Please make an appointment to visit us.

Our services
Access to materials
- Make an appointment
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354