University of Newcastle Library guides

Alexander Burnard (1900-1971) - Papers:  Home

The papers of Alexander Burnard, Australian composer, including correspondence from Percy and Ella Grainger.

Archives : Alexander Burnard

The papers of Alexander Burnard, Australian composer, 1900-1971

The collection of correspondence, papers, library and musical scores of Australian Composer Dr Alex Burnard were transferred to the Newcastle Conservation Alexander Burnard in the mid-sixties of Music on 20th December 1971, from the Elder Conservatorium of Music at the University of Adelaide. They were later sent to the University Archives, Rare Books and Special Collections Unit in 1998.

The papers comprise his musical compositions in manuscript score (1918 and 1970), correspondence, including letters and telegrams sent to his widow after his death in 1971, from family, friends, ex-students and well wishers (1929 - 1974), his musical writings, literary prose and poetical works (1917 - 1970), memorabilia and artefacts (1925 - 1970), photographs (1927 - 1972) and sound recordings (1946 - 1956).

Also in the collection are some letters and postcards from Percy Grainger and his wife, Ella to Alexander and Phyllis Burnard.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Please make an appointment to visit us.

Our services
Access to materials
- Make an appointment
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354