Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Biographical entries on artists from antiquity to the present day, regularly updated. Includes auction records, museum holdings, bibliographies and covers artists across all media: painters, sculptors, calligraphers, ceramicists, illustrators, installation artists and performance artists.
The Color of Art
Free ebooks for artists
Oxford Art Online
Cross-search Oxford’s acclaimed, regularly updated art reference works: the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Wide range of technical information and 800 biographical entries for photographers
Hutchinson Dictionary of Symbols in Art
An A-Z reference to symbolic meanings in art, which examines common emblems and coded references used by artists, concentrating especially on religious themes and mythological subjects.
Other ebooks and collections
Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
Entries for artists, movements, styles, techniques, critics, dealers, schools and galleries
A Dictionary of Modern Design
160 years of international design, with entries on branding, graphics, industrial design, functionalism, and fashion.
Oxford Reference Books Online
Collection of reference material including encyclopaedia, dictionaries and other reference books.
Need some help?
Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information
Use our Library Chat service below (when available)