Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Point of care resources (treatment and best practice)
BMJ best practice
Step-by-step approach, combining latest research, evidence, guidelines and expert opinion.
Broad content coverage for nursing, midwifery and allied health specialties, speech and language pathology, general health and medicine. Also includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets for health conditions.
Disease-oriented guidelines for prescribing and giving therapy recommendations based on literature and Australian medical specialty groups.
Get access to the app version
- see 'Access Information'
Provides resources on evidence-based medicine. 2 user licence
Joanna Briggs Institute
Evidence based resource for nursing, midwifery, dietetics, physiotherapy, podiatry, radiography.
Evidence-based, peer-reviewed information.
Subject-specific EBP resources
Medical ebook titles, images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment tools, case files, diagnostic & point-of-care tools.
Access to ebooks, interactive multimedia resources, self-assessments, case files and a drug database. 3 concurrent users
ClinicalKey for Nursing
ClinicalKey for Nursing provides peer-reviewed, evidence-based information to assist with diagnosis and treatment. This resource has replaced Mosby's Nursing Consult.
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to inform occupational therapy practice.
Randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
PEN: Practice-based Evidence in Nutrition
Online reference resource which covers the wide scope of dietetics providing answers to practice questions with references and links to relevant literature. 5 concurrent users
Database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
Australian Medicines Handbook
Online version of the annual AMH, includes drug monographs, class statements and therapeutic information. 4 user licence
AMH content is also available via ClinicalKey
- select 'Drug Monographs'.
AMH Children's Dosing Companion
Drug monographs with evidence-based doses for children up to 18 years of age. It is updated every 6 months. 2 concurrent users
A suite of databases providing comprehensive drug, disease and toxicology orientated information for health care professionals and patients. 5 concurrent users
Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including dietary supplements and integrative therapies.
A wide range of Australian medicines information including full & abbreviated product information, drug/drug interaction and pill identification modules. Note that MIMS is not strictly evidence-based, but is useful as a point-of-care resource.
Other useful EBP resources
Includes local Australian content, provides access to selected medical texts and journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and Continuing Medical Education (CME) materials. Individual registration is required to download full-text book chapter PDFs
A collection of seven databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
Quick guides to resources
The PDF guides below are quick, 1-page overviews of the resources linked from this guide.
What is CIAP?
The Clinical Information Access Portal (CIAP) is operated by NSW Health to provide access to clinical information and resources for staff working in the NSW public health system. EBP is a large focus of the resources offered, and CIAP can provide differing access to UON for point-of-care resources (e.g. 'Crush?' for medications in MIMS).
UON student access to CIAP
UON students are able to use CIAP when out on placement and can set up offsite access to its resources (limited period registration only). For more information see the document below or staff at the hospital libraries.
In addition to EBP resources, CIAP provides online Learning Modules, such as Appraise, Apply, and Assess the Evidence. These modules are designed to assist professional staff with integrating the best available evidence into practice.
Students wishing to practice steps in EBP can access these modules by clicking on the links or image above.
Each CIAP Learning Module also includes a useful glossary of EBP terminology.
Need some help?
Click Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information
Use our Library Chat service below (when available)