Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Newcastle Library guides

EBP for undergrads: Peer review & journal articles

Guide to evidence-based practice resources for students

Why use peer-reviewed articles?

Journal articles are an important source to use in assignments as they include current scholarly information, can focus on specific topics, and have reference lists that lead to other sources.

Peer reviewed (aka ‘refereed’) articles go through an editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area). This improves the overall quality of the article.

Assignments also often specify that students need to use peer-reviewed articles (aka "scholarly resources" in lecturer-speak), so knowing how to access them is key to getting a good mark.


Checking articles for peer review

Ulrichsweb is a directory of information about journals published around the world and includes the peer-review status of research articles published in the journal (using the designation 'Refereed').

How to search Ulrichsweb:

Finding peer-reviewed articles

The Library Catalogue (NewCat+)

 

Databases

The Library catalogue (NewCat+) includes an option to limit to ‘Peer Reviewed’ articles in the search tabs for 'All' and 'Articles'.

Applying this limit will remove any resources that are not harvested from peer-reviewed sources.

EBSCO

Databases within EBSCO (e.g. CINAHL) include an option to limit to articles from Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals under the section Limit your results.

ProQuest

        

Databases within ProQuest include an option to limit to articles from Peer reviewed and Scholarly journals as separate selections directly under the main search boxes.

Other databases

Databases on the Ovid platform (Medline, EMBASE, etc.) do not include a limit for peer-reviewed journals (PsycINFO is the exception and does include this option). Note that the 'Review articles' limit in Ovid refers to literature reviews, and should not be used to filter articles for peer review.

Publisher databases such as ScienceDirect, Wiley, Taylor & Francis, etc., do not include a limit for peer-reviewed articles. This is also the case for databases on the Informit platform.

To check articles for peer review see the information on Ulrichsweb on this page.

Need some help?

Ask the Library

Click  Ask the library above to access Library Help and Information


Use our Library Chat service below (when available)