University of Newcastle Library guides

Archives of the University of Newcastle:  Theses

The Archives of the University of Newcastle (1942+) encompass the archives of the University as well as the former Newcastle Teachers' College (1949+) (later the Hunter Institute of Higher Education) and the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music (1952).

Archives : UON

University Theses

University Theses are perhaps the most significant University records, containing new knowledge based upon original research carried out at the University. Amongst these 2000+ manuscripts, regional historians will find theses by Green, Rule, Deamer, Morris and Reedman of particular relevance, containing original research on the frontier, pioneer settlement, and colonial architecture of the Hunter Valley.

Have your thesis published online

The University of Newcastle requires all research postgraduates to deposit a digital version of their thesis in our repository, NOVA.

Searching for digital theses

See the Library's page for information on searching or browsing for digital theses.

Searching for hard copy theses

Search for the topic in Newcat, restricting your search to Theses of the University of Newcastle.

If you need to see a range of theses for a particular faculty, school or department, try the following author search through Newcat:

Type in either:

University of Newcastle N S W Dept of …………… for a list of theses created through that particular department.

University of Newcastle N S W Faculty of …………… for a list of theses created through that particular faculty.

University of Newcastle N S W School of …………… for a list of theses created through that particular school.

Click on the particular thesis of interest and record the thesis number. Once you have obtained the thesis numbers we can collect them for you. You can either view theses in theCultural Collections Unit Reading Room during business hours 9.30am - 5.00pm Monday to Friday, or after hours in the Short Loans area of Auchmuty Library.

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Living Histories @ UON
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354