The University of Newcastle Archives
The Archives of the University of Newcastle
The inhouse Archives of the University of Newcastle (1942+) encompass the archives of the University as well as the former Newcastle Teachers' College (1949+) (later the Hunter Institute of Higher Education) and the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music (1952+).
The University Movement began with a series of radio broadcasts in 1943 on Newcastle stations 2NC and 2KO, when Newcastle's leading citizens urged the formation of a University at Newcastle. About that time Newcastle came under a Japanese shelling raid, but that did not thwart the determination of Novocastrians to push for University education in their city.
The University in-house archives, dating from the 1940s, document the administration and history of Australia's largest and most diverse regional University, and comprise permanent records received from some 420 University sources, which include:
- the University Council, Academic Senate, Faculty Boards, and other Boards and Committees
- successive Chancellors and Vice-Chancellors
- the Visitor
- Administrative offices
- Library and Computing Services
- Academic departments
- People associated with the University (or concerning them)
- University organizations, societies, associations and clubs
- Newcastle Teachers' College; Newcastle College of Advanced Education; Hunter Institute of Higher Education
- The Universities of New South Wales and New England, formerly associated with Newcastle University College
- University-produced serials, such as the Annual Reports, the University News, the Gazette, the Bulletin and University Handbooks
The in-house archive has now become a very strong administrative and research resource and encompasses a range of physical formats: minutes, files, theses, oral history tapes, plans, drawings and an extensive photograph collection.
Access
Note: Records less than 30 years old and records containing personal information are generally not available for research use. Questions relating to access should be directed to the University Archivist. As records are regularly accessioned into the University Archives, these lists may not fully reflect the holdings and are meant as a guide only.
Cultural Collections
Contact us
Cultural Collections
Level 2 Auchmuty Library
Academic and Global Relations Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia
Phone: +61 2 4921 5354
Fax: +61 2 4921 5833
Email:
archives@newcastle.edu.au


Loading...
