Skip to main content
University of Newcastle Library guides

TAFE Students and Staff Ourimbah Library Guide: Community Services

A guide to Ourimbah Library for Ourimbah TAFE Students and Staff

Hunter TAFE Library links for Community Services

Go to the Hunter TAFE Library Service homepage to find links to databases, eBooks, eVideos, research assistance, and subject guides.
Use your TAFE username & password to access electronic resources.

You can also search TAFEcat (the NSW TAFE Library catalogue) to locate books. Find out more about requesting books from other TAFE libraries.

Subject Guides that can provide useful resources for your studies are: 

Community Services @ Ourimbah Library

ClickView Streaming Videos

Streaming video platform offering access to educational videos and resources covering a broad range of topics, as well as TV programs recorded in the last 14 days from free-to-air digital channels.

Kanopy Video Streaming

Streaming films, documentaries and training videos. New releases daily.
 

The Tall Man - Streaming Video

Note: Access to the streaming video is via the Kanopy (click link above) and ClickView (play below) streaming video database which requires a University provided login. More information about this login is provided here. Please ask library staff at the service desk if you need help logging in. 

The Tall Man - DVD

A copy of this dvd is available at the Huxley Library (Callaghan campus of the University). To request this item you will need to use your library number and PIN. If you require assistance to set up a PIN or to request this item please ask library staff at the service desk.  

A library database is a collection of online material, usually journal articles and ebooks. A database may also include other material such as streaming video, standards and fact sheets. Some databases will focus on one subject area and others will be multidisciplinary, that is, have information about a wide range of topics.

Listed below are some databases which may be useful for your studies in Community Services. There are many more databases available on the UON library website.

As a Hunter TAFE student of staff member you will also have access to the databases available on the Hunter TAFE Library website.

Government

Organisations

  • Australian Council of Social Service The Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS) is the national peak council of the community welfare sector in Australia and the principal voice of low income and disadvantaged people in social and economic policy matters.
  • The Council of Social Services of NSW - NCOSS NCOSS works with and for people experiencing poverty and disadvantage to see positive change in our communities. As the peak body for health and community services in NSW NCOSS supports the sector to deliver innovative services that grow and evolve as needs and circumstances evolve.
Loading ...

Call Numbers for Community Services

362.29 Alcohol & Drugs
362.76 Child Protection
158.2 & 302.2 Communication Skills
307.14 Community Development
361.994 Community Services
158.3 & 361.06 Counselling
362.8 Family
361.4 Groupwork
362.5 Homeless
323.3 & 361.614 Human Rights
344.94 & 349.94 Law
362.2 & 616.89 Mental Health
363.11 Workplace Health & Safety
361.32 Social Work
361.6 Welfare
305.23 Youth Services
362.7 Youth Work