LibGuides: Allied Health: Resources

Cross-discipline Databases

Key databases commonly used for accessing the latest research in allied health disciplines.

CINAHL Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Allied health and nursing database.
Medline 1946- (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Contains research on biomedical and allied health disciplines.
Embase (OVID) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of biomedical and pharmacological journals.
Emcare: Nursing and Allied Health (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health database. Coverage includes health care economics, mental health, physical therapy, nutrition and dietetics.
PsycINFO (OVID) This link opens in a new window
Behavioural sciences and mental health database.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
Nursing and allied health database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine database.

Quick search guide for health databases

Full list of Library databases

Recommended resources for information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Informit Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Australasian health information covering indigenous health.

Lit.Search
A search filter that provides access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature via PubMed.
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Informs practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health.

Recommended resources for information on the diagnosis, treatment and management of conditions and diseases.

BMJ best practice This link opens in a new window
Combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Includes Australian content. Provides access to selected medical texts, journals and practice guidelines.

Interactive 3D resources.

Anatomedia This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, self-paced learning program that explores anatomy from different perspectives: theoretical (systems and regions) and practical (dissection and imaging.
Not available on smaller screens. Screen size requirement is: 992x652 pixels.
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
Online interactive 3D models of the human anatomy. Interactive features include zoom, layers, MRI, clinical slides and x-rays, animations and images.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
Videos providing a 3D look at the anatomy of the human body using real human atomic specimens.
Use Google Chrome for this database
Thieme teaching assistant anatomy This link opens in a new window
Contains all the images from Thieme's top anatomy titles.
You must set up an account to save images and content.

Policies and guidelines contain recommendations for clinical practice based on evidence.

Note that local policy documents found on the local health district intranet are confidential and often not suitable for use in assessments.

Therapeutic Guidelines This link opens in a new window
Australian Therapeutic Guidelines
Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
Search for topic and filter using Best Practice Information Sheets and Evidence Summaries as publication type for latest guidelines.

Open Access Textbooks and Resources

Textbooks
Courses and training tools

Did you know that there are many great textbooks and resources that are available for free?

Open Educational Resources (OER) are defined by UNESCO as

“… teaching, learning and research materials in any medium – digital or otherwise – that reside in the public domain or have been released under an open license that permits no-cost access, use, adaptation and redistribution by others with no or limited restrictions....”

The following textbooks are examples of resources that are 100% free and available for you to use during your degree and beyond!

Anatomical variation: An Australian and New Zealand context
Publication Date: 2023
Qualitative research: A practical guide for health and social care researchers and practitioners
ISBN: 9780645755404
Publication Date: 2023
2SLGBTQ+ Healthcare: Your guide to building an inclusive practice
Publication Date: 2022

For information about OERs, please see our guide.

Merlot
Includes a range of freely available courses, texts and learning exercises. Search by discipline to find relevant resources.
edX
Includes courses from Australian and international universities, plus lecture notes, reading lists, open access textbooks and other related course materials.
Academic Earth
Academic Earth was launched on the premise that everyone deserves access to a world-class education. It includes links to a range of freely available tertiary level courses.

Your Subject Librarians

This guide has been created by University of Newcastle Librarians who work with your schools to make sure you have access to the resources you need. The Librarians supporting allied health are: