University of Newcastle Library guides

Richmond Main Colliery Archive:  Richmond Main

Archives of the Richmond Main Colliery held by Cultural Collections.

Archives : Richmond Main Colliery

The Richmond Main Colliery Archive

Richmond Main Colliery

A5508 (i) Commonwealth Arbitration Court inquiries 1934 - 1939
A5508 (ii) Claims, decisions and awards 1939 - 1940
A5508(iii) Claims, decisions and awards 1943 - 1950
A5508 (iv) - (x) Papers relating to arbitration, industrial relations & disputes 1932 - 1948
A5509 Papers and correspondence relating to awards and Log of Claims 1927 - 1944
A5509 Local Coal Authority, transcript of notes of meeting Feb. 1, 1951
A5509 Managers, Superintendents, Commonwealth Board of Inquiry and
Inspectors reports
1925 - 1946
A5510 (i) General correspondence 1935 - 1936
A5510 (ii) General correspondence 1940 - 1946
A5510 (iii) Correspondence relating to industrial relations 1939
(Includes History of mechanisation since the introduction
of the first Sullivan-shortwall compressed air driven coal cutter
).
[Anonymous typescript n.d.].
 
A5510 (iv) Correspondence relating to Commonwealth Coal Commission 1942 - 1945
A5510 (v), (vi) Correspondence relating to Rescue 1928 - 1941
A5510 (vii) Correspondence relating to National Security Regulations 1944 - 1945
A5510 (viii) Correspondence relating to Leave of Absence 1931 - 1938
A5510 (ix) Correspondence relating to Royal Commission of inquiry into
pensions for coal miners
1940
A5510 (x) Correspondence relating to pensions 1941 - 1942
A5510 (xi) Correspondence relating to family endowment returns 1929 - 1932
A5510 (xii) Correspondence relating to unemployment relief tax 1932 - 1933
A5510 (xiii) Correspondence relating to Miners Federation 1937 - 1938
A5510 (xiv) Correspondence relating to factory registrations 1937 - 1943
A5510 (xv) Correspondence relating to insurance 1930 - 1943
A5510 (xvi) Correspondence relating to explosives 1931 - 1947
A5510 (xvii) Correspondence relating to Power Plant and Lancashire boilers 1931 - 1942
A5511 (i) Correspondence relating to leases and land
[Includes plans of Stockrington, 1912; Pelaw Main, 1930
and Duckenfield Colliery holding [n.d.] and sections of
borehole seam Palmers Creek outcrop May 14, 1929.]
1929 - 1934
A5511 (ii) Correspondence relating to Board of Inquiry into Coal Mining;
Coal Miners Association; mine working and mechanisation;
accident lists, [1945]. Also includes plans of Mechanised
extraction of pillars as adopted at Coalcliff Colliery, Bulli and
Richmond Main Colliery
and a plan showing proposed method
of working low coal in south levels district
.
 
A5511 (iii) Correspondence relating to departmental enquiry into
electrical matters
1943 - 1944
A5511 (iv) Correspondence relating to Deputies - Newcastle 1935
A5511 (v) Correspondence and papers relating to plant and equipment 1911 - 1951
A5511 (vi) Correspondence and papers relating to bath and changehouse 1928 - 1940
A5511 (vii) Correspondence and papers relating to pit timber 1931 - 1943
A5511 (viii) Correspondence and papers relating to Brickworks 1930 - 1945
A5511a Miners' tokens found at pithead c.1976
A5512 (i) Financial records 1937 - 1951
A5512 (ii) Printed material including -

Future sources of power for New South Wales with
particular reference to the Hunter Valley
, by H.G.
Conde [typed].

A talk by Athol Lightfoot July 1981.
[About J.A. Brown and Richmond Main Colliery]
- 2 copies.

Report of a visit to the United States, United Kingdom
and western Germany
1953, by the Secretary, N.S.W.
Combined Colliery Proprietors Association.

Report of the South Maitland Coalfield Coal Conservation
Committee together with plans
. Sydney, Government
Printer, 1951 [Parliamentary report No. 76].

"The workers prayer" [a poetic send-up of John Brown].

Common cause, September 11, 1949 (poem 1930's).

Diesel haulage at Durham Colliery : a summary of the
first locomotive coal-haulage scheme to operate in
County Durham
. [Reprinted from Colliery engineering
March, 1949.]
 
A6155 (vi) Two notebooks of general information Pelaw Main
Colliery, Stanford No. 1 Colliery, Richmond Main Colliery
[c.1935]
A6155 (vii)(a) Notebook containing railway surveys : Hexham to Minmi;
Hexham to Pelaw Main and Abermain. Pelaw Main to
Richmond Main; Pelaw Main to Weston
1943
A6155 (vii) (b) Notebook containing descriptions and plans of Pelaw
Main Colliery buildings
[c.1943]
A6155 (vii) (c) Notebook with Colliery plans and manuscript of
"The Workers Prayer"
[c.1943]
A6155 (viii) Names of managers, inspectors and superintendents
J. & A. Brown Abermain and Seaham Collieries,
Richmond Main
1912 - 1941
A6155 (viii) Accident plans. [For details see map register 1-999].  
A6155 (viii) Floor plan Pelaw Main Colliery Office [n.d.].  
A6155 (viii) Plan of haulage roads [n.d.].  
A6155 (viii) Diagramatic view of the "Proto" patent rescue apparatus.
[For details of above plans see map register 1-999].
 
A6155 (ix) Rules, rates and conditions of the Richmond Main
Miners' Lodge, Northern District W.L.U. of Australia
.
[c.1948]

Richmond Main tunnel

AB9147 Industrial Conferences minute book 1941 - 1942
AB9148 Industrial Conferences minute book 1942
AB9149 Industrial Conferences minute book 1942 - 1943
AB9150 Industrial Conferences minute book 1944 - 1948
AB9151 Industrial Conferences minute book 1948 - 1950
AB9152 Industrial Conferences minute book 1950 - 1954
AB9153 Industrial Conferences minute book 1960 - 1964
AB9154 Industrial Conferences minute book 1965 - 1967
AB9155 Production Committee minute book 1946 - 1947
AB9155a Central Board General Log of Claims 1944
AB9156 Colliery Manager's diary 1941 - 1942
AB9157 Colliery Manager's diary 1942
AB9158 Colliery Manager's diary 1943
AB9159 Colliery Manager's diary 1943
AB9160 Colliery Manager's diary 1943
AB9161 Colliery Manager's diary 1944
AB9162 Colliery Manager's diary 1944
AB9163 Colliery Manager's diary 1944 - 1945
AB9164 Colliery Manager's diary 1945
AB9165 Colliery Manager's diary 1946
AB9166 Colliery Manager's diary 1946 - 1947
AB9167 Colliery Manager's diary 1947
AB9168 Colliery Manager's diary 1947 - 1948
AB9169 Colliery Manager's diary 1948
AB9170 Colliery Manager's diary 1948 - 1949
AB9171 Colliery Manager's diary 1949
AB9172 Colliery Manager's diary 1950
AB9173 Colliery Manager's diary 1950 - 1951
AB9174 Colliery Manager's diary 1951 - 1952
AB9175 Colliery Manager's diary 1952 - 1954
AB9176 Colliery Manager's diary 1954 - 1957
AB9177 Colliery Manager's diary 1957 - 1960
AB9178 Survey staff Pelaw Main Colliery diary 1954
AB9179 [Unidentified] diary 1956
AB9180 Leases book 1947
AB9181 Correspondence 1955 - 1963
AB9182 Daily reports 1936
AB9183 Daily reports 1937
AB9184 Daily reports 1937
AB9185 Daily reports 1938
AB9186 Daily reports 1939
AB9187 Daily reports 1939
AB9188 Daily reports 1939
AB9189 Daily reports 1940
AB9190 Daily reports 1940
AB9191 Daily reports 1941
AB9192 Daily reports 1943
AB9193 Daily reports 1948 - 1949
AB9194 Check inspectors' reports 1939 - 1947
AB9195 Check inspectors'reports 1947 - 1949
AB9196 Check inspectors' reports 1950 - 1953
AB9197 Check inspectors' reports 1953 - 1957
AB9198 Check inspectors' reports 1958 - 1964
AB9199 Power plant reports 1927 - 1949
AB9200 Contributions to charity, and breaches of discipline 1942 - 1956
AB9201 Records of goods received 1920 - 1921
AB9202 Records of goods received 1922
AB9203 Records of goods received 1925 - 1926
AB9204 Field book 1941 - 1944
AB9205 Field book No. 6 [n.d.]
AB9206 Field book Weston-Pelaw Main Railway [n.d.]
AB9217 Accident report books 1923 - 1924
AB9223 Accident record book 1931 - 1951
AB9225 First aid attention book 1944 - 1947
AB9234 Brickworks pay book 1922 - 1925
AB9237 Brickworks pay book 1930 - 1934
AB9240 General pay book 1911 - 1919
AB9241 General pay book 1919 - 1921
AB9248 General pay book 1928 - 1933
AB9254 Miners pay and attendance book 1917 - 1922
AB9261 Miners pay and attendance book 1927 - 1930
AB9280 Contract employees pay book 1917
AB9282 Daymen's earnings 1916 - 1918
AB9292 Daymen's earnings 1928 - 1929
AB9293 Daymen's earnings 1929 - 1930
AB9297 Miners'earnings 1922 - 1923
AB9302 Miners' earnings 1928 - 1929
AB9303 Miners' earnings 1929 - 1930
AB9321 Time book 1914 - 1916
AB9322 Time book 1915 - 1918
AB9326 Royalty record book 1915 - 1930
AB9327 Royalty record book 1931 - 1934
AB9328 Royalty record book 1933 - 1968
AB9330 Daily tonnage book 1920 - 1923
AB9340 Coal industry tribunals decisions 1941 - 1962

 

 

Cultural Collections

Donate to the Vera Deacon Fund



Support our digitisation programs by donating to the Vera Deacon Regional History Fund


UONCC

Our services
Access to materials
Archives collections
Special collections
Digital resources
- Digital scriptorium
Benefactors
News
Our staff

Search our sites


Contact details

Level 2, Auchmuty Library
Academic Division
University of Newcastle
Callaghan NSW 2308
Australia

T: +61 2 49215354